Heavenly Health Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is a very good recipe, my dogs like it very much. I leave out the sugar to make it okay for diabetic dogs and they love it. The dough is very sticky and I grease my hands a lot. I roll the dough into balls and smash flat with palm of my hand for thin crispy cookies. I dry cookies in oven overnight then heat oven in morning and turn off and dry again for long-lasting, crunchy cookies. Great for gift to dog lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a great recipe, thank you! My dog is highly allergic to corn and it is hard to find cookies without corn in them. With corn being such a common allergy for dogs, you would think it was easier to find food and treats made without it! Thank you for the recipe. My dog loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Awesome, My boxer has the same skin allergies & can not eat corn or beef so she is restrited on what she eats I can not what to try this receipe, THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyllowe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very excited to find this recipe! I have a pit mix with food allergies. He absolutely loves these and they agree with him. I also haven't heard any complaints from any of his friends either! The drool speaks for itself. Thanks for sharing! One tip is I do definitely need to lightly grease up my palms with olive oil when rolling & hand pressing the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My dog loves these--I've made them twice now, cutting the recipe in half because it makes a lot. Actually, if it weren't for the brewer's yeast, I'd like them too! They are quite tasty--but the yeast leaves a bitter aftertaste. It doesn't seem to bother the dog though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I've been desperate to find a dog biscuit that won't aggravate my dog's skin allergies. When I was at the store tonight I bought most of these ingredients, planning on creating a recipe. Thank you for saving me that work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Royer Franks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rio Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
this is my 'go to' recipe. i've made adjustments using flaxseed meal, brown rice flour, some raw oats, and some cooked. my dogs recognize what i'm baking each time and start begging. i roll the dough into balls and press with an oiled glass bottom. there is no waste and they are a great size. many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was a big hit with my dog, and he's a picky eater! I will say that I used whole wheat flour as a substitute for the brown rice flour and the oat flour (I just didn't have those on hand). I also followed previous reviewers by baking for 30 mins and leaving them in the oven overnight to dry out. I am happy to have found a healthy alternative to store-bought treats, and help repel fleas at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These were really easy to make, and my dogs loved them! I did everything as written only I halved the recipe, used whole wheat flour instead of rice flour, and used peanut butter instead of sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
One dog loves these - the other not so much. So just not sure what to rate here. Look good, don't taste that bad (I tried one), and smell okay. Added a sprinkle of garlic on top of each - my dogs love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States