Heavenly Health Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These were really easy to make, and my dogs loved them! I did everything as written only I halved the recipe, used whole wheat flour instead of rice flour, and used peanut butter instead of sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
One dog loves these - the other not so much. So just not sure what to rate here. Look good, don't taste that bad (I tried one), and smell okay. Added a sprinkle of garlic on top of each - my dogs love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was a big hit with my dog, and he's a picky eater! I will say that I used whole wheat flour as a substitute for the brown rice flour and the oat flour (I just didn't have those on hand). I also followed previous reviewers by baking for 30 mins and leaving them in the oven overnight to dry out. I am happy to have found a healthy alternative to store-bought treats, and help repel fleas at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
this is my 'go to' recipe. i've made adjustments using flaxseed meal, brown rice flour, some raw oats, and some cooked. my dogs recognize what i'm baking each time and start begging. i roll the dough into balls and press with an oiled glass bottom. there is no waste and they are a great size. many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe! My dog has allergies and was getting a bad skin reaction to wheat. So this recipe was perfect for her, and she loves it! I would only change a few things. I left the sugar out and put two tablespoons of peanut butter instead; it worked, and my dog loves it. Here are another couple tips: Firstly, this dough won't work if you want to use cookie-cutters. If you do, you will need a LOT more flour. Not IN the dough, but ON it. I got it to work by putting a lot of flour on some wax paper and my hands, then getting a clump of dough and rubbing flour on both sides then pressing the dough flat between my hands, then pressing it flat on the table, making sure to cover sticky areas with flour and making sure to get it thin enough. Secondly, I would change the baking time to 30-35 minutes. Otherwise, it's a wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I've been desperate to find a dog biscuit that won't aggravate my dog's skin allergies. When I was at the store tonight I bought most of these ingredients, planning on creating a recipe. Thank you for saving me that work!!! UPDATE August 2014: I've modified this recipe to remove the cheese, yeast, sugar, eggs and chicken broth (still had problems with allergies with those items). I substituted about 2 cups of roasted sweet potatoes and increased the flax to 1 cup and brown rice flour to 2 cups. If I add too much sweet potato, I just increase the flour and oats. The dogs go nuts and camp out by the stove all night while the cookies are drying. We live in east TX now, and I can can still store these for about 2 weeks in a ziploc bag with a little sachet of rice. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Royer Franks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rio Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My dog loves these--I've made them twice now, cutting the recipe in half because it makes a lot. Actually, if it weren't for the brewer's yeast, I'd like them too! They are quite tasty--but the yeast leaves a bitter aftertaste. It doesn't seem to bother the dog though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very excited to find this recipe! I have a pit mix with food allergies. He absolutely loves these and they agree with him. I also haven't heard any complaints from any of his friends either! The drool speaks for itself. Thanks for sharing! One tip is I do definitely need to lightly grease up my palms with olive oil when rolling & hand pressing the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Awesome, My boxer has the same skin allergies & can not eat corn or beef so she is restrited on what she eats I can not what to try this receipe, THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyllowe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a great recipe, thank you! My dog is highly allergic to corn and it is hard to find cookies without corn in them. With corn being such a common allergy for dogs, you would think it was easier to find food and treats made without it! Thank you for the recipe. My dog loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States