Heavenly Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: This simple dish always makes people think you've got MAD cooking skills which is great if you're trying to impress the in-laws. I bake this at 375 for 15 min., check on it with a fork (to see if it flakes easily), and follow it up with a few minutes under the broiler. Perfect every time and as you can tell from my picture, I had no burning! Served it with another easy but impressive dish "Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls." Many people think Pillsbury crescents are the best and should not be substituted ....until they try these. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Doubled the sauce, baked at 425 for 20 mins. Used freshed Alaskan Halibut and this was wonderful. Served over pasta with a salad. Easy to do on a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OSU BEAVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Excellent base recipe. Here are my modifications: Added a few shakes of Louisanna hot pepper sauce for kick, omitted the onions, added a bit of dill, celery salt and parsley. My dish did not work well under the broiler so I baked it at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. Will be regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This recipe makes the best halibut meal I've ever tasted. This is a five star dinner recipe. My wife and I raved about this and vowed to make at least once a week. It was so good that we made it two days in a row!! I didn't change anything and it was perfect. Make sure the halibut is flakey before putting the sause on. Mine took nine minutes the first time and ten the second time. It depends on how thick the cuts are. Then return it to the oven for two more minutes. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! I sprinkled a few bread crumbs on top of the cheese mixture. I will most definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Neither my husband or I particularly like fish - but we love this! I have used tilapia and red snapper - we have enjoyed it all. I have also served for company who LOVES fish, and the raved about this. Although I pretty much make it "as is" some of the others reviewers suggestions seem appropriate too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I have to agree with everybody. I made no changes and loved this fish. I can't believe the calorie count, it was so rich tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Sorry, but we just didn't find the flavor to be that good. I will however play with the recipe because it looks pretty good with less mayo and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newbiecook
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Very tasty and surprisingly easy to make! Had only 1 small piece left over and it tastes just as good out of the microwave. Will definitely make it again! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I couldn't get halibut at the store (either fresh or frozen) so I substituted mahi mahi. I also didn't have quite enough parmesan cheese, so I added some shredded cheddar to the mix. My 13 year old couldn't get enough and thought it was better than a restaurant, but my six year old didn't like it (but she doesn't like too much fish anyway). I enjoyed it, but next time I will use halibut, because I prefer the taste of halibut over mahi mahi. Also, I would like to find other fish recipes that are a little leaner and less fat. I will make again occassionally but am still looking for a favorite healthy fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States