Heavenly Chipped Chocolate and Hazelnut Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
Scrumptious! Just the right amount of hazelnut and chocolate for a very rich and elegant dessert. Try it for any special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Be warned, everyone will think you had this cake professionally made. It's very easy to make and everyone absolutely loved it. I recommend using a blender for all crushing. I already have three more orders for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Absolutely Fabuliscious!!! This is indeed a very simple recipe although it does take time, i.e. 1 hour to bake, 1 hour to cool. The result is a very pleasing dessert to all ('xcept those you can't eat nuts) with a good consistency and satisfying experience all around. I have relied on this recipe now for all special occasions and for guaranteed smiles: b-day, family get-together, parties, holidays.... absolutely a must in the tool-box. Also, many people always ask for the recipe. You could probably start your own business just selling these.... :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I wavered between giving this recipe 4 stars or 5. Overall the cheesecake turned out fabulous and everyone loved it! My biggest problem with it is that there was too much semi-sweet chocolate flavor and not enough hazelnut. If I make it again, i will not put the chocolate chips in the crust like it calls for. Something else I was annoyed with was the amount of work I had to put into it (and normally I love a challenge). Just make sure you have a food processor or blender before you start (as a college student, I don't have either of those luxeries so I had to crush all of the chocolate chips by hand which was redundant). Well, i focused so much on the negatives, that, i don't want to leave out any other positives. The cheesecake itself is ABSOLUTELY gorgeous when it is all done. However, instead of dipping hazelnuts into chocolate for the topping, i simply put the chocolate/sourcream mixtre on top of the cake and then sprinkled it with toasted hazelnuts. The taste was outstanding and the texture was great. Overall, I was very pleased...I will keep this one in mind for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
My first cheesecake, I made this for a party. It packs a lot of "presentation" punch, for very little work. I added an extra Tbs of hazelnut liquer to the topping, and had to use almonds for the crust, but it was a big success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is a fantastic cheesecake...very elegant and rich. I used crushed Oreos instead of chocolate chips and vanilla wafer crumbs on the crust, and the toasted hazelnuts added a perfect touch! I also chopped up some Ferrero Rocher candies and mixed them into the batter before baking. Rave Reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This was very good - like a Nutella cheesecake. I took the advice of another reviewer and left the chocolate out of the crust and just added a bit more to the cheesecake itself. I bought a block of Ghirardelli chocolate and chopped that into small pieces, instead of using chips. I couldn't find any Frangelico, so I substituted a Chocolate Hazelnut liqueur and it turned out very well. Lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Where I live there is no way I can get hazelnuts that are skinless. So, the night before Xmas supper I had my husband cracking nuts while I got the rest ready. Then I had to toast the nuts and rub the skins off. (huge Job) I wasn't impressed with the results. We all ate more whipped cream with our dessert than cheesecake to try to counteract the very rich cheesecake. Normally I like rich - but this was too much. After, I overheard someone say that they wish I would have just had pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schreiber, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I added 2 tablespoon kahlua to the batter and 1 tablespoon to the glaze and used chopped almonds in place of hazelnut. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
When I make it again, I'm probably going to use mini chocolate chips rather than bothering to chop up the larger ones. Other than that, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Trumbull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States