Heavenly Blueberry Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I too prefer plain to vanilla yogurt( I always have it in my fridge) but if you're using it, switch the quantities of yogurt and milk. Go with 1 cup of milk and 1/2 cup yogurt, add a ts of honey. I used pretty much a cup of blueberries, and a regular banana with 1/2 cup ice. I like my smoothies with lots of ice. I didn't have flax so omitted that. Next time though, so the blueberry flavor shines, I'll try it with no banana, more blueberried, and maybe like a TB of yogurt just to thicken it up. Plain yogurt always tends to dominate in smoothies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I thought this smoothie was a bit yogurty so next time I may change the milk/yogurt ratio. I used plain yogurt but then had to add sugar to sweeten it a bit. I didn't freeze my banana and the smoothie wasn't cold enough so I added 6 ice cubes and that worked well. All in all, I liked this smoothie and I plan to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
If you're struggling with eating your fruits everyday, I would strongly suggest checking this smoothie out. It has two super foods in it and contains flax seed meal. Blueberries have some of the greatest antioxidant levels you can find in a fruit and flaxseed is a powerhouse for omega-3s and good souce of fiber. Eating 3 bananas a day has been shown to alleviate symptoms of depression/anxiety because of it's ability to increase your dopamine levels. How awesome it that? I add a little more blueberries and flax seed meal to mine because I like a thicker smoothie. I also use the Silk vanilla soy milk but no honey. Most the time I don't freeze the bananas and that doesn't bother me too much. I would recommend trying to use a good plain yogurt, none of that sugary stuff. If you're a big milk drinker try to find stuff low in calories and saturated fat (like Fage) and vice~versa if you're not a big milk drinker. Another recommendation is to add strawberries or a kiwi into the mix. You don't even really taste the kiwi, but that's another great source of omega-3s and antioxidants. I drink this every morning or as a lunch dessert for myself. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was quite REFRESHING! I did make a few minor substitutions which included using agave in place of honey, plain yogurt instead of vanilla flavored (too much sugar) and crushed ice to make it really cold. I did use a frozen banana but did not think it needed to thaw before blending. I adding 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed. I tried many smoothies from this site and will put this one in my smoothie rotations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Delicious! What a great breakfast! I blended everything together at once and it worked just as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Awesome! Made it once without the honey and I couldn't even tell the diff. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I didn't have all of the ingredients for this recipe so I used it as a guide. I added one banana(not frozen), 1 cup blueberries, 1 cup fat free vanilla yogurt, 1/2c 1% milk, 1 tsp splenda and a handful of ice. It was so delicious that my kids asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Thia was great, ok I did change a few bits, my berries where frozen, not the banana, I also used plain yogurt and I ended up not adding the honey as I felt it was sweet enough anyway. This one I will use again and again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Great! I used wheat germ instead of the flax and put in 2 T. of honey and a tsp. of vanilla since I used unsweetened soy milk and plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Tasty Smoothie! I use 2 bananas and do not freeze them as I feel the flavor comes out better this way. I also do not use honey due to allergic reaction but this tastes great anyways!! This recipe has been a heaven send on our hot summer nights as a "sweet treat" rather than reaching for the ice cream. Also instead of blueberries try frozen strawberries. Just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States