Heavenly Blueberry Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
It was quite good, but I didn't like the flax seed in it so much. Thanks for sharing this recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Delicious! I adjusted the receipe as follows: 1 fresh banana 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk 1 6oz container greek yogurt 1 1/2 teaspoons flax seed meal 1 1/2 teaspoons wheat germ 2/3 cup fresh blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Made this with some kind of mushy blueberries .. and it turned out great. Didn't freeze the banana. Used regular plain yogurt but added some vanilla. Also didn't have any flax seed. Even 8 year old liked it. I'm going to freeze what is left and eat it as a substitute for ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I made this as attempt to get something healthy in my 4 year daughter. She isnt a big eater. She drank every drop and then wanted more. So this has now become staple in our home. My husband and I also drink this. We have also tried other fruits and it always turns out good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great recipe. I used regular milk and plain yogurt and added a couple of drops of vanilla extract. It cut the tang of the yogurt just enough. My banana wasn't frozen, but the blueberries were. I thought it was cold enough. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Yum! I left out the flax and banana and used regular milk. Added a tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cierra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I'm not the biggest fruit eater and bananas just gross me out but I can get them down if they're in a smoothie. I used juice in lieu of the milk and skipped the honey as I felt it was sweet enough. Very good and thank you for a delicious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I too prefer plain to vanilla yogurt( I always have it in my fridge) but if you're using it, switch the quantities of yogurt and milk. Go with 1 cup of milk and 1/2 cup yogurt, add a ts of honey. I used pretty much a cup of blueberries, and a regular banana with 1/2 cup ice. I like my smoothies with lots of ice. I didn't have flax so omitted that. Next time though, so the blueberry flavor shines, I'll try it with no banana, more blueberried, and maybe like a TB of yogurt just to thicken it up. Plain yogurt always tends to dominate in smoothies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I thought this smoothie was a bit yogurty so next time I may change the milk/yogurt ratio. I used plain yogurt but then had to add sugar to sweeten it a bit. I didn't freeze my banana and the smoothie wasn't cold enough so I added 6 ice cubes and that worked well. All in all, I liked this smoothie and I plan to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
If you're struggling with eating your fruits everyday, I would strongly suggest checking this smoothie out. It has two super foods in it and contains flax seed meal. Blueberries have some of the greatest antioxidant levels you can find in a fruit and flaxseed is a powerhouse for omega-3s and good souce of fiber. Eating 3 bananas a day has been shown to alleviate symptoms of depression/anxiety because of it's ability to increase your dopamine levels. How awesome it that? I add a little more blueberries and flax seed meal to mine because I like a thicker smoothie. I also use the Silk vanilla soy milk but no honey. Most the time I don't freeze the bananas and that doesn't bother me too much. I would recommend trying to use a good plain yogurt, none of that sugary stuff. If you're a big milk drinker try to find stuff low in calories and saturated fat (like Fage) and vice~versa if you're not a big milk drinker. Another recommendation is to add strawberries or a kiwi into the mix. You don't even really taste the kiwi, but that's another great source of omega-3s and antioxidants. I drink this every morning or as a lunch dessert for myself. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States