Heavenly Blueberry Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Yummm! It is a mild smoothie, but it isn't all that filling. We found, at first, that the banana was way overpowering for the blueberry taste that we wanted. We upped the blueberries to 1 1/2 cups and it still wasn't enough. Next time we will try 2 cups! This also makes the smoothie a lot thicker. We also found omitting the honey did not change the flavour, therefore we omited it to reduce the calories from this particular ingredient. In addition, I upped the flax to 2 tsp in order to add more of a traditional benefit - its only 1 tsp per person still. Very nice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I'm not a big smoothie maker but I really liked the health benefits of this one. It was very tasty. I made it just like the recipe said and I didn't think it was too sweet at all. My five year old liked it, and my seven year old didn't. But I will make it again for myself as it's very healthy and very, very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This recipe is perfect just the way it is, with no changes needed. It's so healthy, this mom of a newborn feels more alive and awake after drinking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jakesmomma
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These were awesome! My four year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
First time making a smoothie.....we loved it. Great tasting. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is so yummy! I used regular milk and only about 1/4 cup of plain yogurt. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Yummy! A few changes... We used 2% milk and plain fat-free yogurt. I increased the amount of honey to one tablespoon, measured one tablespoon of flax seeds then ground them and a full cup of blueberries. Banana doesn't need to be thawed. This has a nice consistency with a blast of blueberry flavour. My hubby-to-be didn't like the addition of flax, but I did; it's something you could leave out or replace with something else based on your personal preference. This makes a great base for other fruits or fruit blends. We do like our smoothies thick though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
YUM!! I did not have soy milk so used 1% milk. Also had no honey so did not add it. It was still good without the honey. I did add a few fresh spinach leaves for an extra healty boost and you could not even taste them!! I also used fresh blueberries and kept my banana frozen. My kids thought it tasted like a milkshake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I really felt this was more a 3.5. I liked it fairly well but it wasn't great. I made it again, trying to improve upon my first one. I didn't use the flax meal either time, because -- well, I don't have it and I don't care. (I do smoothies for the fruit.) I also don't have soy milk around. The first time I used (reconstituted) nonfat dry milk, and Dannon yogurt, but it tasted too much like the yogurt and too little like the vanilla. (And I don't like plain yogurt.) So the second time I went with a different brand lowfat vanilla yogurt, and 1% milk. The banana and blueberries both frozen to make it good and cold. And because it calls for vanilla soy milk, I also added 1/4 tsp vanilla and a pinch extra honey. And still thought it was a 3.5. I tried. In the end I upped it to the 4 because it's easy - I like my smoothies SMOOTH so I like things that blend up really well. Oh, and I agree the banana doesn't need thawed. EDIT: I've made this 2 more times, separated in time, using full-fat vanilla yogurt, and both times would have called this closer to a 5. So I'm drawing the conclusion I just don't like the low fat stuff in this. I've also started using the full-fat version because I see nothing wrong with dairy fat and low/non-fat just has too much other garbage in it and I think is less healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was so refreshing and easy to make. My daughter helped making the smoothie and had a blast. We substituted Trix yogurt for the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States