Heaven and Hell Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Clumby86
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I stumbled upon this recipe years ago for my mom's birthday....it has since become her FAVORITE cake. I've made a couple changes since it is so sweet, added dried cranberries on top to give a bit of tart and I use buttercream frosting instead of carmel. Turns out fantastic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clumby86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I came across this thinking it would be a cute cake idea to bring to a church dinner. Unfortunately, the only thing they liked about it was the name. The cake was too heavy and the frosting was too stiff and hard to work with. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I have served this cake to friends and family several times now and each time I receive raving reviews and everyone wants the recipe. This is by far one of the best cakes that I have ever made! Thank you very much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I made this cake in a pinch, and I guess it performed okay since it was for my 3 year old daughter's birthday, but I wouldn't serve it to anyone I wanted to please. It didn't bake well, very heavy and course, with a thick outer surface too tough to cut nicely. Maybe if I had used the caramel frosting, honey, and pecans it would've worked, but I don't think I'll bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This cake tasted very heavy, without much flavor. It also didn't raise very well at all. The instructions mention adding salt, but the ingredients don't list salt. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I used the mini angel cake pan my sister sent me from USA, so made 6 individual cakes (stops any fighting!) I couldn't find caramel frosting over here so I used "MaryKaye"s recipe and both complimented each other. I have been ORDERED to make some more. This time I'll try to remember the honey. (LDP, England)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
Great taste! Recipe mentioned salt but didn't say how much. I used 1 tsp. Also mentioned milk or yogurt, but failed to mention how much milk, so I used yogurt. Next time, I won't drizzle any honey over the top layer - it just sat on top of the cake, unabsorbed, and gave the caramel frosting a mottled appearance. I will definitely make this cake again - delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
This was an awesome cake! I loved every minute of it! I made it for an office party along with a fantastic chocolate cake. The choclate cake was barely touched. It was good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
This cake is divine! Everyone loved this cake. Very moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States