Heather's Healthy Oatmeal Surprises Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
These cookies are great. They will stay soft for quite a while (although they rarely last longer than a couple of days at my house!) The last time I made them I ran out of sugar and only ended up using about 1/2 of what was called for - they still turned out great! New additions 7/12/05: I have made these cookies at least 20 times now - I ALWAYS get asked for the recipe. I have adapted the recipe to make it even healthier...I substitute applesauce for 1/2 cup butter (only use 1/4 c. butter) and for the butter I do use, it's blue bonnet light - if you do this I suggest creaming the sugars with the butter and then adding the applesauce, rather than trying to cream them all at once; I also forgot to put in all the eggs one time and they still turned out great, so now I use just the two egg whites and omit the 1 egg. I have also tried this with egg substitute and it's great. I use between 1/2 and 2/3 the amount of sugar called for and it is still plenty sweet. I have also made these into ice cream sandwiches - freeze cookies for ~15-20 minutes after cooked, then put a scoop of ice cream between the bottoms of 2 cookies. Roll in peanut butter chips and chocolate chips, wrap in saran wrap, and refreeze - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
There's no question these cookies taste good - but 'Healthy'?? You must be joking!! 144 calories per cookie's worth of butter, sugar, eggs, peanut butter and chocolate is 'healthy'?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is not a healthy recipe but is definitely easy to turn it into one. I use raisins instead of all that chocolate and it is still delicious. Also there is no need for white sugar, might as well stick only to brown since it is much healthier. Also, with the sweetness of raisins there is really no need for so much sugar. So with a simple switch to raisins and a decrease of all that sugar down to just one cup of brown sugar, you still have (guaranteed delicious and still very sweet) cookies that you can snack on with relatively no guilt! If you really care about your health or really enjoy a frequent snack I would also change white flour to whole grain flour. Taste stays the same while guilt is relatively GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
wow...this recipes is awesome! of course i love to play with recipes so i did just that...i used 1/2 sunflower butter (you could probably use peanut butter) and 1/2 smart balance for the butter (which, in a way, makes it even healthier) and also used a little less sugar...oh and forget the chocolate and PB chips...i used raisins and cranberries...and added some almonds...yum! it turned out great and i'll definetly use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
These will be a permanent addition to the cookie file. I used only one stick of butter and added 1/2 cup of homemade applesauce with cinnamon to the recipe. All whole wheat flour and chocolate and peanut butter chips added just enough sweetness. They stayed soft for the five days they were in the cookie jar...makes a large recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
SO delicious! Used white chips, dried cranberries, and toasted pecans- instead of the other chips! They have an awesome flavor and a great texture- will def make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FILLEFOU
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
These cookies tasted great, but maybe I didn't leave them in the oven long enough, because they weren't as crispy as I would've liked. Also, these cookies don't spread much, so flatten them before putting them in the oven. I made mine small and ended up with about 4 dozen. The dough can become very sticky and unworkable, so stick it into the fridge between batches. Some changes I made: I added in 1/2 tsp of cloves and cut down the white sugar to 1/4 cup. I also put in 1c raisins, 3/4c walnuts, and 1/2c pecans instead of the chips. Next time, I think I'll add even more nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Oatmeal/peanut butter/choc chip all rolled into one...who could ask for more?!!! Fantastic cookies! I took some other advice and replaced 1/2 cup of butter with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and decided to omit the white sugar all together, so only using the 1 cup of brown called for. I personally found these to be perfect this way, and even healthier to boot. Love the texture of these, a softer type cookie, but nice and dense due to all the oats. Will definitely keep these as a regular and all 3 of my boys loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Everyone loved these cookies and with all the oats and whole wheat flour I can feel good about giving them to my kids. When they first come out of the oven and cool they seemed to hard but after sitting underplastic wrap for a little bit they are soft and moist. Try these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
These cookies are AMAZING! Personally, I prefer whole wheat over white for everything, but even if you don't, these taste just like any other oatmeal cookie (ONLY BETTER)! These are not only the best whole wheat oatmeal cookies I've ever had, but they're also the best oatmeal cookies I've ever had, period! I know some reviews were saying these are not exactly "healthy" and I agree. However, they're a lot healthier than your average cookie, just considering they have whole wheat flour and mostly egg whites. I also made them a bit healthier by replacing the peanut butter and chocolate chips with raisins and walnuts, which is a personal preference. Overall, if you're deciding between a Mrs. Fields oatmeal cookie and one of these, this cookie is obviously the healthier choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States