Heather's Healthy Oatmeal Surprises Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
wow...this recipes is awesome! of course i love to play with recipes so i did just that...i used 1/2 sunflower butter (you could probably use peanut butter) and 1/2 smart balance for the butter (which, in a way, makes it even healthier) and also used a little less sugar...oh and forget the chocolate and PB chips...i used raisins and cranberries...and added some almonds...yum! it turned out great and i'll definetly use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FILLEFOU
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
These cookies tasted great, but maybe I didn't leave them in the oven long enough, because they weren't as crispy as I would've liked. Also, these cookies don't spread much, so flatten them before putting them in the oven. I made mine small and ended up with about 4 dozen. The dough can become very sticky and unworkable, so stick it into the fridge between batches. Some changes I made: I added in 1/2 tsp of cloves and cut down the white sugar to 1/4 cup. I also put in 1c raisins, 3/4c walnuts, and 1/2c pecans instead of the chips. Next time, I think I'll add even more nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
For a healthier cookie, you really can't tell the difference. I added raisins instead of peanut butter chips, and cut down the sugar by a few tablespoons. I thought these were delicious. I also mixed 1/8 cup decaffeinated instant coffee to 1 tb hot water and put that in the batter. It adds a nice, very subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANANDBENNETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. Unfortunately I did not have peanut butter chip - so I did just chocolate chip. I also did not have brown sugar so I put two tablespoons of molasses. Instead of white sugar, I put splenda. I'm hoping to have peanut butter chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shony Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Light, crisp, soft in the middle...perfect. Lovely without the peanut butter chips ( which I haven't seen in the U.K.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This recipe was very yummy. While it's not exactly "healthy", if you're trying to feel a little bit better about the cookies you're feeding your kids, these cookies are for you. Both my finicky kids loved these. I followed the recipe exactly, but you could easily substitute raisins or nuts for the chips, if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
These cookies are great. They will stay soft for quite a while (although they rarely last longer than a couple of days at my house!) The last time I made them I ran out of sugar and only ended up using about 1/2 of what was called for - they still turned out great! New additions 7/12/05: I have made these cookies at least 20 times now - I ALWAYS get asked for the recipe. I have adapted the recipe to make it even healthier...I substitute applesauce for 1/2 cup butter (only use 1/4 c. butter) and for the butter I do use, it's blue bonnet light - if you do this I suggest creaming the sugars with the butter and then adding the applesauce, rather than trying to cream them all at once; I also forgot to put in all the eggs one time and they still turned out great, so now I use just the two egg whites and omit the 1 egg. I have also tried this with egg substitute and it's great. I use between 1/2 and 2/3 the amount of sugar called for and it is still plenty sweet. I have also made these into ice cream sandwiches - freeze cookies for ~15-20 minutes after cooked, then put a scoop of ice cream between the bottoms of 2 cookies. Roll in peanut butter chips and chocolate chips, wrap in saran wrap, and refreeze - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Very good and filling as well. Gave it four stars because suggestions for adding nuts were made. I loved them just the way they are though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GTHANG29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
These will be a permanent addition to the cookie file. I used only one stick of butter and added 1/2 cup of homemade applesauce with cinnamon to the recipe. All whole wheat flour and chocolate and peanut butter chips added just enough sweetness. They stayed soft for the five days they were in the cookie jar...makes a large recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Healthy might be a stretch, but these are quite tasty. Greasing the cookie sheets was a must, however. The dough was wonderful, almost better than the cookies! Next time I think I will try these sans the peanut butter chips, but if you love pb, go for it. Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States