Heather's Healthy Oatmeal Surprises Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
One of my family's favorite recipes! The kids like them more than regular chocolate chip cookies, and I don't feel guilty eating them. I also tweak it slightly with applesauce and flaxseed meal instead of half the butter and sugar to make a delicious breakfast bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These were really good. And its a forgiving recipe. I decided to double this without checking my ingredients, bad idea. Went to add in my oats and I only had 4 1/2 cups of oats. Oops. So I added 1 1/2 cups of coconut :) Worked great. These cookies aren't overly sweet which is not a bad thing. Left out the nutmeg and cinnamon because I forgot them. :O This is what happens when you talk on the phone and try to bake at the same time. Great recipe and the family loves them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Wow these were really good! They bake up really nice and stay soft on the inside after cooling. All I ever use is whole wheat flour so I loved this recipe. Using the whole wheat makes you fill up much faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
These are delicious! Several reviews said they omitted the white sugar so I was worried they might be too sweet, so I cut it back to about 1/4 cup and I think that was a perfect amount. Not too sweet, not too boring. I like raisins but my husband doesn't so it was nice to find a recipe that didn't have them in there. I also used parchment paper on my cookie sheet so they wouldn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This recipe is ok. I did not put white sugar, like the other review I put 1/2 cup of raisins instead and use 3/4 cup of b. sugar but it is still sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good but I wouldn't call them healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is not a healthy recipe but is definitely easy to turn it into one. I use raisins instead of all that chocolate and it is still delicious. Also there is no need for white sugar, might as well stick only to brown since it is much healthier. Also, with the sweetness of raisins there is really no need for so much sugar. So with a simple switch to raisins and a decrease of all that sugar down to just one cup of brown sugar, you still have (guaranteed delicious and still very sweet) cookies that you can snack on with relatively no guilt! If you really care about your health or really enjoy a frequent snack I would also change white flour to whole grain flour. Taste stays the same while guilt is relatively GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
very good. have made them several times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Healthy maybe not! Tasty yes!. We added pecans as suggested in one of the other reviews. Nice touch. Easy to make this hearty cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Electricweeb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I like the cookies alot! The only thing is that my family wanted me to make the next batch with less cinnamon in them. So, I only put half cinnamon and increased the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp instead. they were really good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States