Heather's Healthy Oatmeal Surprises Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
These cookies are very good. And they are healthy but if you want the healthy diet use fat free products. I don't think people are understanding that. It's healthy in a different way not in the diet weight loss way. Any ways great cookies! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
very good, but make sure to cool! you don't have to use a cookie sheet, but then let it cool for ten minutes. DO NOT RUSH IT THE COOLING NO MATTER WHAT YOU HAVE!!!!!!!!!!!!! Otherwise it will stick and crumble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This recipe was great! I will definitely make it again, people are already asking for more batches. The only thing I changed was I added a little less than a cup of chocolate chips and no peanut butter chips because of an allergy, and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaG
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I loved the texture and flavor. I did make some changes and that was grape seed oil in place of the butter. I omitted the chocolate and peanut butter chips and used golden raisins, (soaked in hot water for 10 minutes prior.) The true test though, is that my 3 year old granddaughter, who happens to be the MOST pickiest of eaters...Loved Them!!! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Thanks for fueling my search for a healthy recipe! Thanks also to reviewers! I followed some tips already given and tried some new things. First of all I reduced sugar by 1/2 c, reduced the butter per suggestion, added applesauce, and mixed a powdered egg replacer into the wet ingredients. I also used white whole wheat flour, dissolved the soda in hot water, and used a multi-grain cereal in stead of oatmeal. I'd give this rugged cereal a whirl in the food processor if you don't like a lot of texture. I also add a couple tbsp of ground toasted flax to most baked goods. I added a cup of walnuts too, for health and texture. After all that I added some "healthy" dark chocolate chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
We changed these a little bit, added two tbsp of peanut butter instead of chips and chopped up dark choc bar instead of choc chips. Loved em..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Everybody seemed to have changed the recipe (which I personally have no problem with) so I did too (wink wink). Cut to 1 stick butter, 1/4 cup applesauce, cut white sugar to 1/4 cup (next time, leave at 1/2 cup and cut the brown sugar down to 3/4 cup - - - they were plenty sweet, but didn't have the crispness we enjoy); and then I just threw in a hodgepodge of fillers (choc, flax seed, peanut butter, raisin, in short - I pretty much cleaned my cabinets out from misc small bags of leftovers). They were fantastic. I came out with close to 5 doz cookies and sure enough - you'd never know these were made with whole wheat flour. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Accidentally left out the vanilla, but they tasted good anyway. Texture is dense, but the cookie is soft. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Oh wow, you could hardly tell a difference from the regular oatmeal cookie. Instead of peanut butter chips and chocolate chips, I used 2 tablespoons of peanut butter (all natural), and 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder (again, natural and unsweetened). So I made mine even healthier. :D Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I did not have any wheat flower on hand, so I used rye flower, same amount as the recipe calls for. Also I chose Heath bits instead of the chips that were suggested. They turned out excellent!!! What a great, "healthy" cookie!!!! Love them and so does my 1 year old :) bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeanne Geroe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States