Heather's Healthy Oatmeal Surprises Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe, pretty close to my own. The one thing I do different is to add walnuts. They add wonderful crunch and texture plus lots of healthy Omega-3 oils. One thing I recommend for this recipe, and really for all your baking, is to use Mexican Vanilla (extract). You won't believe the difference it makes in your baking. It's a bit pricier than those tiny bottles of extract you buy at the grocery store, and I have to order it online (can't find it in any store here), but it is worth every penny. I frequently get asked what my secret ingredient is, and really, it's the vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I don't know what happened, but all of my cookies stuck to my pans. I used my Pampered Chef baking stones that I've used for years, and nothing sticks to them, but these did! The recipe specifically said ungreased pans, with 3/4 c of butter there should be no need to grease them, so I didn't. The cookies tasted delicious, but they crumbled to pieces while I was trying to get them off the pans. Really disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
One of my family's favorite recipes! The kids like them more than regular chocolate chip cookies, and I don't feel guilty eating them. I also tweak it slightly with applesauce and flaxseed meal instead of half the butter and sugar to make a delicious breakfast bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Levi Jeppson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These were really good. And its a forgiving recipe. I decided to double this without checking my ingredients, bad idea. Went to add in my oats and I only had 4 1/2 cups of oats. Oops. So I added 1 1/2 cups of coconut :) Worked great. These cookies aren't overly sweet which is not a bad thing. Left out the nutmeg and cinnamon because I forgot them. :O This is what happens when you talk on the phone and try to bake at the same time. Great recipe and the family loves them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Wow these were really good! They bake up really nice and stay soft on the inside after cooling. All I ever use is whole wheat flour so I loved this recipe. Using the whole wheat makes you fill up much faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
These are delicious! Several reviews said they omitted the white sugar so I was worried they might be too sweet, so I cut it back to about 1/4 cup and I think that was a perfect amount. Not too sweet, not too boring. I like raisins but my husband doesn't so it was nice to find a recipe that didn't have them in there. I also used parchment paper on my cookie sheet so they wouldn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This recipe is ok. I did not put white sugar, like the other review I put 1/2 cup of raisins instead and use 3/4 cup of b. sugar but it is still sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good but I wouldn't call them healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Geiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is not a healthy recipe but is definitely easy to turn it into one. I use raisins instead of all that chocolate and it is still delicious. Also there is no need for white sugar, might as well stick only to brown since it is much healthier. Also, with the sweetness of raisins there is really no need for so much sugar. So with a simple switch to raisins and a decrease of all that sugar down to just one cup of brown sugar, you still have (guaranteed delicious and still very sweet) cookies that you can snack on with relatively no guilt! If you really care about your health or really enjoy a frequent snack I would also change white flour to whole grain flour. Taste stays the same while guilt is relatively GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
very good. have made them several times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States