Heather's Grilled Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Excellent salmon! I really wanted to make this on the outdoor grill, but we are in the middle of a heat wave right now and it's too hot to do anything outside. So I ended up making this on the George Foreman Grill. I marinated the salmon for about 3 hours and the salmon was so tender and flavorful. I set some of the marinade aside and simmered it on the stove for a few minutes then spooned it over top the finished salmon. Delicious! Can't wait to try this on the outdoor grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I've used this technique for years. I made it for the wedding receptions of both my kids, and quickly gained the reputation for making the best Salmon in the West. A couple of tricks: I marinate the fillets in the bottom of a cooler, or in a glass baking dish in the fridge. I sprinkle each fillet with a touch of kosher salt, cover the fillets with brown sugar and drizzle soy sauce on top of the sugar. This draws the natural juices from the Salmon, and turns into a thick dark syrup after a 1/2 hour or so. I let the salmon marinate for several hours. I then quickly rinse the fillets to remove excess sugar and place on the grill flesh side down. This creates the unmistakable grill lines of charbroiled salmon. Watch carefully to not overcook. Check the ends of the fillets. Once you see the salmon has turned opaque about 1/4-1/3 of the way through, slide a couple of spatulas underneath and slide the fillet toward you and flip it away from you. Now that the skin side is down, you can allow it to BBQ as long as you need to until it is done. Once flipped I like to spread a heated mixture of spicy BBQ Sauce (like Cattle Boyz) and butter on top of the flesh as it continues to grill. NOTE: 1) try to grill pieces that are a consistent thickness. Cut thin sections off the fillets and grill them separately. 2) Do not overcook. The flakes should be somewhat translucent in the center. Overcooked salmon will be dry and lose most of its flavour. 3) I do not recommend re-using the marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Sheppard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was a very good recipe as was noted by most who rated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by george

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I only had time to marinate for 15 minutes. So then I wrapped serving sizes in aluminum foil (with generous amount of marinade in there, too), and put on the grill for 15 minutes. Came out great! If you try this, watch and smell for burning around the 15-minute mark. if the marinade cooks off, it can burn if you leave on too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Hampton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
OH MY GOSH! This is the best marinade ever! Seriously, my husband was late coming home from work and I almost ate his salmon too! I saved the marinade and threw shrimp in for the next night and that was great too! Trying chicken tonight. Added 1/4 C lemon juice because I didn't have lemon pepper. Seriously, BEST EVER! Thanks for sharing Heather!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I'm a chef and I was looking for something a little different to glaze my fiance's salmon. She absolutely loved this glaze. I had no problem with the flavor of the glaze going throughout the whole salmon as I was glazing the salmon frequently while it was grilling. Great glaze. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a great, simple marinate for salmon! I chose to broil it in the oven (5 minutes per side) and it turned out great! It was the perfect flavor for salmon! I used to get No-Name Salmon Filets, but now there may not be the need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I know I should be eating salmon (it's a superfood!), so I've tried out many recipes on this site trying to find the best way too cook the fish. After literally years of looking, I found it! I couldn't believe that such simple ingredients--especially the dried herbs, could blend together to make such a great flavor. I followed it exactly as written. I used fresh salmon and marinated it almost 24 hours. Thanks for the great recipe, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsWife01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
It's very full of flavor, but it's a bit too sweet, I also added lemon juice, it was wonder full, next time just down the sugar to a few teaspoons less, but great recipe, very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Absolutely Delish! This was the first time I grilled Salmon, and this marinade was quick, easy, and complimented the fish greatly. I recommend this to anyone looking to get their feet wet with trying salmon for the first time. You won't be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Grilled Salmon II

A sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired marinade for grilled salmon fillets.

Grilled Salmon I

A simple marinade makes grilled salmon fillets irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States