Heather's Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Heather - thank you for your recipe. My Mother in Law would be proud of me - I FRIED CHICKEN! And it was really good.....even though I kind of screwed up - I added 1 Tablespoon chicken seasoning to the buttermilk instead of a teaspoon and I added a teaspoon of seasoning to the flour. Seems, this was an excellent mistake. I took a picture of your recipe - the lighting isn't great, I will try to get another picture tomorrow in the day light....if I don't eat all the chicken first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is a pretty good fried chicken recipe for dark meat as written. Next time I am going to try with breast and see how it goes as I prefer white meat. I assume it should taste about the same since you are in a sense putting the chicken in a brine over night so it shouldn't dry out during the frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Decided to make this chicken dinner for some friends and family, we had been talking about dinners from our childhoods and how what we eat now and what we ate then was so different. When someone pointed out that you can still eat the foods from the past just do so on special occaison and in moderation. Just finished dinner and this chicken was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Simple and excellent. Best fried chicken I ever made. Crispy skin. I had rather large chicken drumsticks and had to fry them low and slow(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Roefer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I learned to do chicken this way as a young girl, and it's nice to know fried chicken "still" lives on! However, you might want to put the "dry" mixture in a ziplock bag, and shake it. We used paper lunch bags way back when, but I still hope the shaking " kills" those calories !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA
Photo by Darquequeen15
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Not bad for my first time frying! Easy, step-by-step directions. I did brine the meat for 2 hours in a salt and lemon herb bath before cooking. (suggestion made by others) Will definitely make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darquequeen15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I'm not a big fan of fried anything, but hubs had a hankering for some good homemade fried chicken. This recipe caught my eye because it employs a simple brining process, followed by a soak in buttermilk. Braving the hot oil, I dredged and cooked the pieces until they were a nice golden brown. We both enjoyed this very much, and are looking forward to the rest for lunch. The mess was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I love this recipe. It must be keeping the chicken so cold that gives such great results. It was the first time, after years of trying, that my chicken was cooked through, juicy, and keep the batter on. I wasn't as excited about the spice mix and, even with 1/2 the salt, it would have been too much. I'll work on that part. The method listed here is perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Followed recipe exactly-ish. Instead of the chicken seasoning I used Old Bay. Really great fried chicken. All the neighbors and family loved it. Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CollegeCuisine9
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I really like the method that this recipe uses. However, I found the spice ratios to be pretty wacky. Also, I like my fried chicken a little spicy, so I added cayenne. Otherwise, really great fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States