Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This is a really good salsa. I made it this past weekend and it was delicious. Things I did differently were : I used Fresh tomatoes not canned. About 2 medium ones that I chopped and took the pulp out of. I also added 2 tablespoons of TACO seasoning mix. This gave it a nice flavor. You can also substitute with cumin if you'd like. I omitted the oil and the avocado. I added about 1/4 cup of chopped jalapeno in. I let it sit over night so the flavors could marinate really well. With the leftovers I made black bean quesadillas the next day adding cheddar cheese to the tortillas. Will make again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Very VERY tasty! However, I cut the recipe back by half. ommited the olive oil, added the full quarter cup of lime juice, and used all the cilantro. I also found that using fresh corn right off the corn is WONDERFUL and very cost effective during the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I love black bean and corn salsa! For this recipe, I used fresh tomato instead of canned, left out the onion (I don't care for them raw) and the avocado (did'nt have one), and I added some cumin. I served it over enchiladas, but could have eaten it with a spoon (and still might, there is some left over). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Incredible! The only thing I would probably change is to use real diced tomatoes and another avocado. The canned tomatoes were just weird. I found myself trying to avoid them. Other than that, it is a really filling dip and great for parties! It's easy, cheap, awesome, and different from the usual party dips (cheese dip, guacamole, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassagrass
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I really like this recipe. I've been making something similar for years. Instead of the canned tomatoes, I use fresh. Then I also add in a can of garbanzos, a teaspoon of cumin, and salt and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was really yummy. Instead of the oil I added a little lime juice. I also used regular diced tomatoes because the Italian style was too much like a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaCh L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Couldn't get canned white and yellow corn seperately, so I bought two cans of niblets and threw 'em in, also had to omit the pepper due to an allergy. This was pretty good though, a refreshing summer salsa that goes great with tortilla chips, we've even put it in tacos! Increase the amount of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I made it for a recent barbecue and everyone raved. It's light, fresh, and absolutely delicious. I like things a bit spicy so I added a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is SOOO good. I've used as an appetizer (makes a lot) or as a side dish. Everyone raves and it's just as good two days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma's cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe is similar to my original corn & black bean salsa, except I used fresh tomatoes. HOWEVER, I finally wisened up and found a short cut - fresh pico de gallo from the grocery store produce section, canned corn & black beans drained. The only things you have to cut are the avocado and slice the lime in half. Cuts prep time tremendiously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States