Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Deliscious! Makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This black bean and corn salsa recipe was really good and it makes a lot! The only change I made was throwing in a second avocado into the salsa because I love avocado! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe is quite bland as is, but it's a good base. Unfortunately, I had to omit the avocado because my boyfriend hates it. (I'm sure it would be delicious with it added!) However, instead of using canned tomatoes (I really dislike canned tomatoes in salsa), I used about 4 small/medium fresh tomatoes, diced. Since it was a bit lacking in flavor, I added about 2 teaspoons of cumin, salt to taste (maybe around 1-1 1/2 teaspoons), and pepper (around 1/2-1 teaspoon). I also used an orange bell pepper instead of red because it was all I had on hand. It still needed a little kick so I added 2 partially seeded jalapenos and 1 tablespoon of white vinegar. This brought it to life! With these changes, I would definitely rate it a solid five stars. My friends and I can't stop eating it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Yummy and fresh, but bland. Added salt, pepper, cumin, and extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This makes a lot and it still went fast at our family gathering! I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, a little extra lime (juice of 3 limes total), and 2 hatch peppers instead of the rekd bell for a little heat. Also added a bit of cumin and salt. Fantastic. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was a deliciously refreshing salsa, to which I added a tsp. of cumin, a can of garbanzo beans, a couple tsp. diced jalapeno and a defrosted package of cocktail shrimp. I left out the avocado only because I knew it would turn brown, and served chips and guacamole on the side. The fresh cilantro really made this dish outstanding in flavor! Great light meal on a 115 degree day here in Palm Springs. Will definitely make again. Thanks so much for sharing, hvoeltner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Made this exact to the T. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYODD CHRISSMASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Love this recipe. My aunt made it for my birthday party two years ago. I've been making it ever since. I love to make it for summer parties. I use fresh tomatoes instead of canned. During the summer when I have fresh tomatoes and fresh herbs from my garden, I make it every other week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I don't give many 5 stars but this is a fantastic recipe. This is more of a salad vs a salsa. We served this as a salad and just added some cumin and red pepper flakes for a little kick and it was AWESOME. So refreshing and light. Try this you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
YUMMY!! This recipe is so fresh and filling. Low in calories too. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States