Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Wonderful!! I followed this recipe as is and ate it with some hint of lime tortilla chips. Looks great in a clear bowl...big hit at the barbeque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Juno Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Heather: this recipe ROCKS! It is very easy to "customize" it to whatever you have on hand. I used fresh tomatoes, fresh jalapenos and a seasoning spice available here in Texas called Pico de Gallo con limon (Fiesta Brand). I didn't have canned corn so I flash cooked some frozen corn. The lime juice is a must have for that South-of-the-border taste. We totally love this stuff and it's pretty to boot! The last time I made this I added 1 cup of cooked and cooled Bulgar cracked wheat. It made a Mexicanized verson of Tabouli. Quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Excellent Salsa!!! My friends request this everytime we have a BBQ. I use the Rotel diced tomatoes that includes lime juice and cilantro for even extra kick. Love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Great salsa! I have made it several times now. I have made some changes, tailored to my family's tastes. I don't mix the avocado in it and it keeps longer, just have sliced avocado on the side. I use Rotel original (instead of Italian tomatoes), double the lime juice OR add 1/4 cup vinegar, and add hot sauce. I dump everything in a 1 gallon jar, shake it well, and let it sit in the fridge until the next day. I then shake it and dip out what we will use with a slotted spoon--that helps with the additional liquid without compromising the taste. This makes it almost as easy to keep on hand as the store-bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Eh...it was okay...there are tons more dips I can make that are better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I think this is a great alternative to traditional salsa. I can serve it at a party with chips or use it as a salad topping. Very cool and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I could eat this with a spoon, as a matter of fact I did with crushed chips on top! I have to add the heat though, 2 diced jalapenos, 1/2 tablespoon cumin, a sprinkle of Cayenne, and an extra 1/2 of a lime.I also omitted the avocado and olive oil. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Soooo light & refreshing! I used fresh corn cut off the cob (which was AMAZING) didn't add the avocado, didn't have one and don't really care for it that much. Forgot to add the olive oil, and it was so great without it, that I may skip it in the future! had some vegans over so this was a perfect treat for them. LOVED this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yum yum yum! I made this for a family BBQ and it disappeared faster than anything else! I added some jalepenos for extra kick! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rahmanoodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is really a very good salsa. I added a little salt and more jalapenos (including the juice) to kick it up a notch. We have eaten it with chips or just as a side dish. I used fresh cherry tomatoes and fresh cracked pepper for a very fresh, authentic taste. Will definitely make again...perhaps this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States