Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this and it was WONDERFUL!!! Took it on vacation and my entire family, including the kids loved it. It only lasted 2 days. I made some changes to it though. Not so much cilantro and I added chile seasone tomatoes (that you would use for a Mexican dish) in a can...2 to be exact. I also added yellow and orange bell peppers for added color. Did not add the avacado either. This is a recipe I will continue to use. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queeni

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I'm a huge fan of all the ingredients in this salsa, so it should have been great. Right? It's good, but it's not likely I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a great, great recipe. Always a big hit! I think the recipe is fine just how it is, but I may play with it a bit more in the future. Canned tomatoes, drained and rinsed like the black beans, look and taste just fine but fresh would probably be better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake Van Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Easy to make, everyone loves it & wants the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
It does make a lot. I made 2 batches and took them to a potluck, and I would have been better off splitting 1 batch. Everyone asked for recipe because everyone liked how refreshing it was and it was actually healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Wow! This made alot more than I expected! It made w hole mixing bowl full. It's very good but it seems like it's missing something? Some spice possibly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Moretto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Wonderful!! I followed this recipe as is and ate it with some hint of lime tortilla chips. Looks great in a clear bowl...big hit at the barbeque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Juno Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Heather: this recipe ROCKS! It is very easy to "customize" it to whatever you have on hand. I used fresh tomatoes, fresh jalapenos and a seasoning spice available here in Texas called Pico de Gallo con limon (Fiesta Brand). I didn't have canned corn so I flash cooked some frozen corn. The lime juice is a must have for that South-of-the-border taste. We totally love this stuff and it's pretty to boot! The last time I made this I added 1 cup of cooked and cooled Bulgar cracked wheat. It made a Mexicanized verson of Tabouli. Quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Excellent Salsa!!! My friends request this everytime we have a BBQ. I use the Rotel diced tomatoes that includes lime juice and cilantro for even extra kick. Love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Great salsa! I have made it several times now. I have made some changes, tailored to my family's tastes. I don't mix the avocado in it and it keeps longer, just have sliced avocado on the side. I use Rotel original (instead of Italian tomatoes), double the lime juice OR add 1/4 cup vinegar, and add hot sauce. I dump everything in a 1 gallon jar, shake it well, and let it sit in the fridge until the next day. I then shake it and dip out what we will use with a slotted spoon--that helps with the additional liquid without compromising the taste. This makes it almost as easy to keep on hand as the store-bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States