Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Loved, loved, loved it! I have been looking for a recipes for this and this is the one. The only change I made was left out the pepper and used green chiles, only used red onion and sprinkled in some sugar. Took it to a luncheon at work and there was nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Urban Ballard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Awesome fresh salsa! As always, I made a few adjustments to the recipe...instead of using canned corn, I cut raw white corn strait off the husk. I also added cumin and red pepper flakes for added flavor. I made pulled pork tacos with this salsa on top and it was a big hit...it also was great on our eggs the next morning:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etcouch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
So much heartier than your average salsa!! Everyone loved it. Tonight we're going to try using the leftovers for quesadillas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkopetic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good! I made some modifications just based on what I had on hand- I used a bag of frozen corn that I cooked in the micro. I only used one can of black beans and the diced tomatoes I had were roasted garlic and onion. I didn't have any green onions and I only used 1/2 my red onion because it was very pungent. Also, had green bell pepper on hand so used that instead of the red. Really delicious- you don't even need the chips! I may take a big bowl of this for lunch tomorrow...it's that good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this up and then we used it on lettuce with sour cream and taco chips as a "mexi-salad" it is amazing all by itself too, or in a lettuce wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I followed the veggies to my favorite proportions, and got a hold of a dried ghost pepper. Oh my yummy! Just a 1/4 of it was enough heat, but not enough flavor, so I added a taco seasoning packet. That did the trick! I'm taking it camping this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
My husband gave this rave reviews and I love it as well. However, I did make modifications for personal taste. I used 1/4 cup finely chopped red onion in place of green onion, petite diced tomatoes with chilies (don't know why you would use Italian ones), a jalapeno finely chopped, and no avocado (didn't want it turning brown and ruining the salsa). I also added a couple dashes of cumin. Make it the day before you want to it it and all of the flavors meld well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is delicious! I've been getting requests for the recipe ever since the first time that I made it! I added one 4oz can of green chilies, a couple fresh roma tomatoes. Omitted the avacado and pepper. Reduced the garlic only for parties. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is an extremely good salsa. I could eat it just from a spoon! EDIT: I absolutely adore this salsa. I make it so much. It keeps well, and it is way better the next day after all of the flavors mix together. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinpatch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is AWESOME Salsa, the only thing I think it's lacking is a little spice so I added some of my Pampered Chef Chipotle rub and it made it perfect! I think adding a little Tabasco would work too for those of us who like a little spice. We put this over some lettuce, added some cheese and seasoned ground beef and tortilla chips for a nice taco salad. Thanks for the great recipe that I know will get much use in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States