Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This recipe was just ok for me. There was definitely something missing. More spices need to be added. I added some crushed red pepper and a mixture of seasonings from the cupboard. Cumin would be a good addition for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beechblondee5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe is similar to my original corn & black bean salsa, except I used fresh tomatoes. HOWEVER, I finally wisened up and found a short cut - fresh pico de gallo from the grocery store produce section, canned corn & black beans drained. The only things you have to cut are the avocado and slice the lime in half. Cuts prep time tremendiously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Great but a little too runny. Also use fresh tomatoes not canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this recipe for a party and not one person had a good thing to say about it. I used all fresh ingredients (even cut corn off the cob) and the feedback from my guests was that it was bland and lacking flavor. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this for my Mexican Christmas Dinner and everyone loved it. The only thing i changed was I used a can of fire roasted tex mex style tomatoes and I used a bag of Birds Eye SteamFresh Corn. It turned out awesome every1 loved it*this is a family fav now*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvfood
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! The only change I made was to add another avocado because I'm an avocado addict. I also tend to cut the amount of lime juice and just add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha_L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I put more cilantro than the recipe calls for, and about double the avocado. I also included half a jalepeno, finely diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My family loves this recipe, it makes a good size bowl, but we still have to double it because we all love it. However, I never use the avocado or olive oil; we just like it simply without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe for a party to go along with tortilla chips. I did add some spices(cumin, pepper, salt, chili powder)otherise it would have been very bland which is why I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I omitted the onions since I had a few people who do not like raw onions. I will definitely make this again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States