Hearty Wheat Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very good, very easy, and very healthy! I used all whole wheat flour except for substituting 1/2 cup of wheat germ. I sweetened it with Splenda and used whole wheat yeast. They came out dense and delicious. Perfect with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Balanced wheat taste and easy! Not too sweet and not overpowering on the wheat. Be creative and top with seasonings that appeal to you. We chose to sprinkle the butter (I used olive oil) tops with thyme and garlic powder. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made these for my family for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I chose this recipe from many available online because it didn't contain a lot of sugar or honey. This makes a nice savory roll when a little garlic powder and rosemary is added. I also brushed with olive oil instead of butter and salted the tops. Next time I might double the recipe to make sandwich rolls. An easy recipe to follow and fast for a yeast bread. Every element performed as expected and the result tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SECONAWAY21
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Really good and simple recipe, but of course they did still taste like wheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SECONAWAY21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
My boyfriend loves these rolls. I add roasted garlic to the dough and top with kosher salt. Makes a hearty roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Conrad, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
All right - maybe good for a bread base in another recipe. I'll probably try other recipes before I ever come back to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
I have been looking for an easy or quick whole wheat dinner roll recipe for several years, I guess I will have to continue looking. although the recipe is easy and quick, the resulting product leaves something to be desired, they were dry and a little doughy. I live at high altitude and I did not do any adjustments to the receipe, I wanted to try it with out adding extra this and that and adjusting the leavening. Next time I will try adjusting for altitude and do a follow-up review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This was a really easy resipe, especially since I am an amateur baker! I actually "veganized" this recipe by using soymilk and margarine instead, and they still worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States