Hearty Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was not good. Flavorless and boring. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Soup was delicious and very filling. I agree with other people that it turns out very thick so you may need to adjust the water if you want a more "soup-y" soup. It makes great leftovers and you can always just add in more water when reheating it. I'm not a big fan of chickpeas but I hardly tasted them once they were mixed in with everything else. My husband made it and used canned vegetables; I may have used frozen or even fresh and maybe tried adding in the veggies closer to the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
On my third batch great soup low in calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
We will definitely be making this one again! Healthy and fast and great for clearing out the pantry/fridge. It does turn out more like a stew so next time I will be adding more liquid and more spices for flavour. I would recommend this to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I've never critiqued a recipe on here but decided as much as my kids loved it, I'd go ahead. They thought this was the best soup I'd ever made and i couldn't believe it because it was vegetarian. I was inspired by leftover brown rice and beans to make a soup on a rainy day and this was it. I did not have leeks so I cooked 3 small onions and 2 cloves of garlic in garlic flavored grape seed oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also did not have peas, so I doubled the corn. I used 1 cup vegetable stock and 1 cup water. I did not have thyme. I used a mixture of dill blend by Wildtree and a pinch of cumin. It was like stew and very filling. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This the best vegetable soup I have ever had. I love hearty soups and this is definitely hearty. I substituted brown rice and Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. The Rotel added just a little bit of a kick. I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
You can reduce the sodium by swapping out most if not all of the tomato juice with low sodium chicken stock or vegetable broth (for a thicker consistency, just mash a 1/2 cup of the beans and stir into the soup ), use low sodium soy sauce, use frozen corn and peas that are thawed, and rinse the garbanzo beans before putting into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The recipe is a good place to start but I had to make quite a few changes to make this a 5 star soup. The first being that I did not drain my diced tomatoes. The extra tomato juice was necessary for flavor and having enough liquid so it did not become mush when cooking. I also used 1 clove of fresh garlic minced well. Instead of 2 cups of water I used 3 cups water mixed with 3 tsps "Better than Boullion" vegetable base. I also used canned Campbell's tomato juice since I do not like V8 and would never use the remaining juice. I did not have a leek or carrots so I added extra celery, onion, and 1 extra potato. For seasoning I used Italian seasoning and I ended up needing a whole tablespoon because it was bland otherwise. Also instead of rice I used 1 cup of Stelline Barilla soup pasta. I probably could have only used 1/2 a cup because it really soaked up the liquid. When heating up leftovers I also find that I have to add 1/2 cup of water to keep it at a soup consistency instead of a stew. After all my additions it was great but unfortunately the original recipe needs to be reworked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Since I'm really determined to eat healthier, I thought I would try this soup and I'm so glad I did. I didn't change it much, only eliminated the potato and changed the water to my homemade vegetable stock. This is a real winner and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I love this soup! I made it on a cold night when I wasn't feeling well and it made everything better! I made only a few changes - instead of using V-8 I added 1 can of tomato sauce and about 3 cups of water. I also added a chicken bouillon cube because it tasted like it needed a little more salt. I omitted the leek, simply because I didn't have one. I also added about 1 1/2 cups frozen cut-leaf spinach. Very tasty!! I also did not add the rice, and didn't miss it at all. The soup was very thick, more like a stew. My boyfriend and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States