Hearty Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Excellent soup! I used elbow macaroni instead of rice, added 2 cups of beef broth, & some rosemary. A really hearty soup that had them coming back for more! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Outstanding! I only used one can of garbanzos and used a couple cloves of chopped garlic. I actually used bloody mary mix instead of the V8 because that was all I had on hand and it was fabulous! I used a spicy bloody mary mix that has crab in it which gave the stew a nice flavor. I did add a cup more of water to make it more soupy. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
This recipe was very good. I have a friend that is a Vegitarian and we all get together on thursday nights and cook dinner. It was my trun to cook dinner and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
very good soup!! I put green beans instead of peas (i hate peas) and I also added black beans. Oh and I used orzo instead of white rice. thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This soup was SO easy and so delicious! ANYONE can make this (I don't cook AT ALL and I had no trouble with it). It is very hearty- it's more like a stew than a soup. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I just left out what I didn't have, (garbanzo beans, corn, leek and dill weed) and added a few cloves of garlic. Also, I used a can of stewed tomatoes. It came out like a vegetable stew, very filling. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This soup was great. It has a great base. You can change the ingredients to fit your liking. I added black beans instead of chick peas. I added chopped broccoli instead of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
If you are sick, make this soup. I have an awful cold, and I thought making myself some soup might make me feel better. I've never had a tomato-based vegetable soup, and I was a little leary, but I knew I needed some good vegetables and antioxidants and thought a tomato-based soup would be ideal. It was SO, so good. I used beef stock instead of water, and I didn't have leeks or peas; also, I didn't have garbanzo beans, so I used a can of butter beans and a can of kidney beans, and it was wonderful. Instead of white rice, I used pearl barley. I don't think you'll be disappointed by this soup--you can pretty much add whatever vegetable you have on hand. And, I do feel slightly better. :) The hot soup helped clear out my nasal pasages; off to take a nap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
O.K. - how did you get my grandmothers recipe? I haven't made veggie soup for years as my late husband didn't like it. I had an urge for some (we've had dark, cold days this week) so I made it! I used home made beef stock for the base instead of water, stewed tomatoes for the diced, barley for the rice, black beans with the garbanzo. I chose to use frozen veggies because of their flavor and added limas, string beans, garlic, shredded cabbage and some fresh asperagus. Today when I re-heated it, I added a can of beef broth to make it thinner. This is the best veggie soup I've had in years - Thank you, Colleen! Now I'm off to freeze some and send some over to my grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This is exactly what I was looking for. Healthy, cheap, fast and easy..what more could you want? I used 2 individual serving cans of V8, a little less dill, and I left out the rice. Still thick and delicious. Perfect for cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States