Hearty Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
This soup was good. I think it is a good base for many different ingredients. The only thing that I will keep in mind next time is that it does turn out really thick; more a stew than a soup. I just added more vegetable juice, water and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
O.K. - how did you get my grandmothers recipe? I haven't made veggie soup for years as my late husband didn't like it. I had an urge for some (we've had dark, cold days this week) so I made it! I used home made beef stock for the base instead of water, stewed tomatoes for the diced, barley for the rice, black beans with the garbanzo. I chose to use frozen veggies because of their flavor and added limas, string beans, garlic, shredded cabbage and some fresh asperagus. Today when I re-heated it, I added a can of beef broth to make it thinner. This is the best veggie soup I've had in years - Thank you, Colleen! Now I'm off to freeze some and send some over to my grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was delicious! I've made it a few times, changing some of the ingredients. I like omitting the potato and rice and adding 1/2 cup of barley instead. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is my weekly go-to soup. Easy, quick, healthy and delicious. I use frozen corn and frozen peas, and I cook the onions, potatoes, carrots and celery 1st for about 15 minutes before adding the other veggies as they cook pretty quickly. I also use fresh garlic. Rarely have the leeks, so I'll add extra celery and onions in that case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
If you are sick, make this soup. I have an awful cold, and I thought making myself some soup might make me feel better. I've never had a tomato-based vegetable soup, and I was a little leary, but I knew I needed some good vegetables and antioxidants and thought a tomato-based soup would be ideal. It was SO, so good. I used beef stock instead of water, and I didn't have leeks or peas; also, I didn't have garbanzo beans, so I used a can of butter beans and a can of kidney beans, and it was wonderful. Instead of white rice, I used pearl barley. I don't think you'll be disappointed by this soup--you can pretty much add whatever vegetable you have on hand. And, I do feel slightly better. :) The hot soup helped clear out my nasal pasages; off to take a nap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Excellent soup! I used elbow macaroni instead of rice, added 2 cups of beef broth, & some rosemary. A really hearty soup that had them coming back for more! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
This was a great recipe,but I also made changes for my personal preferences. Instead of rice I used barley. I used frozen peas & carrots combo.I also agree it needed more liquid, just too much like a stew in it's present state. Added extra veggie juice and water. After bringing to a boil, I put it in a low oven and let it cook slowly for an hour or so.Great with toasted French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
very good soup!! I put green beans instead of peas (i hate peas) and I also added black beans. Oh and I used orzo instead of white rice. thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This soup was great. It came out more like a stew, but I added more to the recipe and did not adjust the liquid. I added an extra potato, 1 bag of edamame instead of peas and used brown rice instead of white. This is for sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Made this as is and it was great. I'm sure you could make changes here and there for variety or to taste but it's vegetable soup. It's forgiving like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States