Hearty Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This soup was great. It has a great base. You can change the ingredients to fit your liking. I added black beans instead of chick peas. I added chopped broccoli instead of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Outstanding! I only used one can of garbanzos and used a couple cloves of chopped garlic. I actually used bloody mary mix instead of the V8 because that was all I had on hand and it was fabulous! I used a spicy bloody mary mix that has crab in it which gave the stew a nice flavor. I did add a cup more of water to make it more soupy. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I just left out what I didn't have, (garbanzo beans, corn, leek and dill weed) and added a few cloves of garlic. Also, I used a can of stewed tomatoes. It came out like a vegetable stew, very filling. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Excellent soup! I used elbow macaroni instead of rice, added 2 cups of beef broth, & some rosemary. A really hearty soup that had them coming back for more! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This soup was SO easy and so delicious! ANYONE can make this (I don't cook AT ALL and I had no trouble with it). It is very hearty- it's more like a stew than a soup. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I didn't have V-8 juice, so I substituted plain tomato juice. I also used green beans instead of corn. The soup was very tasty and both my two-year-old and 10-month-old both loved it. It is very good with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Yumm!! I made this soup last night. I added a little more v8 juice and about a cup and a half of chicken broth. I also added a few cloves of crushed fresh garlic and fresh parsley,thyme, and rosemary. it turned out really good. just be sure to simmer the soup, it leaves the veggies with a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Extremly nutritious and tasty soup. I didn't add the peas, leeks or corn (personal preference) but substituted 1 can green beans and added orzo instead of rice ( also added 2 minced cloves of garlic and a few sprinkles or red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. ) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
More like a stew than a soup. Very thick, but tasty. We had it for left overs for a couple of days and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
This was a great recipe,but I also made changes for my personal preferences. Instead of rice I used barley. I used frozen peas & carrots combo.I also agree it needed more liquid, just too much like a stew in it's present state. Added extra veggie juice and water. After bringing to a boil, I put it in a low oven and let it cook slowly for an hour or so.Great with toasted French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States