Hearty Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Outstanding! I only used one can of garbanzos and used a couple cloves of chopped garlic. I actually used bloody mary mix instead of the V8 because that was all I had on hand and it was fabulous! I used a spicy bloody mary mix that has crab in it which gave the stew a nice flavor. I did add a cup more of water to make it more soupy. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I just left out what I didn't have, (garbanzo beans, corn, leek and dill weed) and added a few cloves of garlic. Also, I used a can of stewed tomatoes. It came out like a vegetable stew, very filling. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Excellent soup! I used elbow macaroni instead of rice, added 2 cups of beef broth, & some rosemary. A really hearty soup that had them coming back for more! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This soup was SO easy and so delicious! ANYONE can make this (I don't cook AT ALL and I had no trouble with it). It is very hearty- it's more like a stew than a soup. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I didn't have V-8 juice, so I substituted plain tomato juice. I also used green beans instead of corn. The soup was very tasty and both my two-year-old and 10-month-old both loved it. It is very good with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Yumm!! I made this soup last night. I added a little more v8 juice and about a cup and a half of chicken broth. I also added a few cloves of crushed fresh garlic and fresh parsley,thyme, and rosemary. it turned out really good. just be sure to simmer the soup, it leaves the veggies with a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Extremly nutritious and tasty soup. I didn't add the peas, leeks or corn (personal preference) but substituted 1 can green beans and added orzo instead of rice ( also added 2 minced cloves of garlic and a few sprinkles or red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. ) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
More like a stew than a soup. Very thick, but tasty. We had it for left overs for a couple of days and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
This was a great recipe,but I also made changes for my personal preferences. Instead of rice I used barley. I used frozen peas & carrots combo.I also agree it needed more liquid, just too much like a stew in it's present state. Added extra veggie juice and water. After bringing to a boil, I put it in a low oven and let it cook slowly for an hour or so.Great with toasted French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
All my wife could say besides WOW was "Are you sure this is low fat?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States