Hearty Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I made this for our dinner tonight, complete with cornbread. I found that, to my taste, the soup was rather bland, so I added a bit of sea salt, and used more garlic salt. I used only one can of beans, and added asparagus. Someone else said it before, but I'll say it again: you can add virtually any vegetableto this soup, or substitute nearly anything, and it seems fine. When I repeat this recipe, I think I'll omit the stewed tomatoes, as it does seem a bit Tomato Empowered. Also, I noticed that my peas virtually disintigrate: I will experiment with frozen peas/corn next time, for both consistency and flavor (canned veggies just don't do it for me! Of course, if I'm making this during the summer, I'll use fresh., and don't know why I didn't use fresh in the first place, to be honest...) This is a lovely recipe to use up leftover veggetables in one's fridgedaire...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This soup was terrific. Very hearty! I omitted the diced tomatoes, because it seemed so tomatoey already. I also used arborio rice instead of regular white rice, because it's what I had on hand - it was great. I also added some kale I had in the fridge that needed to be eaten - my kids didn't even notice. We will definitely make this again, but I think I'll make it with only one can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I made this for a work potluck with cornbread muffins with the following changes: omitted leak, potato and rice; used frozen corn and peas; substituted black beans and kidney beans for garbanzos. I really liked with flavor the soy sauce and dill gave. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
very yummy, my husband didn't like the tomato taste so I'll tone that down next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was delicious! I've made it a few times, changing some of the ingredients. I like omitting the potato and rice and adding 1/2 cup of barley instead. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I tried this recipe today and although all the ingredients are wholesome and nutritious and the soup was easy to make, the soup itself was way too peppery. I recommend using only 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper instead of the 1/2 teaspoon that the recipe calls for. Also, the overall flavour was too overpowered by tomato ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This is exactly what I was looking for. Healthy, cheap, fast and easy..what more could you want? I used 2 individual serving cans of V8, a little less dill, and I left out the rice. Still thick and delicious. Perfect for cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
O.K. - how did you get my grandmothers recipe? I haven't made veggie soup for years as my late husband didn't like it. I had an urge for some (we've had dark, cold days this week) so I made it! I used home made beef stock for the base instead of water, stewed tomatoes for the diced, barley for the rice, black beans with the garbanzo. I chose to use frozen veggies because of their flavor and added limas, string beans, garlic, shredded cabbage and some fresh asperagus. Today when I re-heated it, I added a can of beef broth to make it thinner. This is the best veggie soup I've had in years - Thank you, Colleen! Now I'm off to freeze some and send some over to my grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
If you are sick, make this soup. I have an awful cold, and I thought making myself some soup might make me feel better. I've never had a tomato-based vegetable soup, and I was a little leary, but I knew I needed some good vegetables and antioxidants and thought a tomato-based soup would be ideal. It was SO, so good. I used beef stock instead of water, and I didn't have leeks or peas; also, I didn't have garbanzo beans, so I used a can of butter beans and a can of kidney beans, and it was wonderful. Instead of white rice, I used pearl barley. I don't think you'll be disappointed by this soup--you can pretty much add whatever vegetable you have on hand. And, I do feel slightly better. :) The hot soup helped clear out my nasal pasages; off to take a nap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This soup was great. It has a great base. You can change the ingredients to fit your liking. I added black beans instead of chick peas. I added chopped broccoli instead of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States