Hearty Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I made this recipe and it was barely edible. The rice made it not a soup, or even a stew, but mush. I am now going to throw away the gigantic amount of vegetable "soup" this recipe makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is my weekly go-to soup. Easy, quick, healthy and delicious. I use frozen corn and frozen peas, and I cook the onions, potatoes, carrots and celery 1st for about 15 minutes before adding the other veggies as they cook pretty quickly. I also use fresh garlic. Rarely have the leeks, so I'll add extra celery and onions in that case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I found this soup quite bland and definately more like a stew than a soup. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Soup was EXCELLENT, very good, I don't usually eat many peas or beans but this reciepe made then taste great. I added a can of chicken broth so it wasn't so thick. My husband loved it to and the best part it is super healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
The picture looked so yummy I just had to fix it for supper today. However, I didn't have all the ingredients so I had to improvise. I diced up an onion and cooked it in a little reduced fat butter. Then I added 1 can each: corn, baby carrots, tomato soup, petite diced tomatoes, cubed potatoes. I added a little water and added some barley and simmered until the barley was done. It WAS thick as stew and tasted great. Hopefully I'll have all the ingredients next time and it'll be even better. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Excellent! I was looking for a hearty vegetable soup. Lots of big chunks. I of course added more of what I liked and less of what I didn't. Perfecto. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Awesome! I lived on this all winter! With all the vegetables in it, it is very filling. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Beck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Randy
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly except that I replaced one can of Garbanzo beans with a can of Butter beans. The soup was very hearty and tasted great. Note that the rice absorbed all the liquid in no time. I would recommend that more chicken stock and/or water is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This recipe is a great starting point for anything you want to throw in. I added sweet potato and green beans and used frozen peas instead of canned. I was unsure about the soy sauce and dill, so I used parsley and italian seasoning instead...using V8 as a base was easy and tasty! I also omitted the rice, I thought the soup was hearty enough without it, and lower calorie too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Admittedly I leave out a lot of stuff, but it's still great. Adding the rice is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States