Hearty Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Awesome vegetable soup, though I would dare say its more of a stew than a soup possibly. I follow the recipe exactly, except I do not use garbanzo beans, instead opting for kidney beans. Tastes great still! I make a ton of this and save it(freeze some) and eat it for a healthy lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Low fat and healthy indeed, but rather low on taste also. This blend of vegetables needs a lot more spices to liven up. My family grumbled a bit but ate it nonetheless so it was not that bad after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was good except the 1 cup of rice I thought was way too much, it got too thick. I also used spicy v-8 juice and it was way too hot. So next time I won't do that, but overall it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Made a lot, so I froze 1/2. Very filling. I doubled the seasonings to get more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Delicious! I didnt have vegetable juice so i used Bloody Mary mix from Trader Joe's and Lemon Pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I will have to tweak this recipe a bit before it gets 4 or 5 stars. First of all, I really disliked the rice which when cooked got very mushy. I will substitute barley next time...a good thickener which holds its shape in soups and stews. The liquid was far too little and I ended up adding about 4 cups more water to make it soup-like instead of stewy. The overall measurements of vegetables was good...no flavors were overpowering but next time I may substitute a vegetable or chicken stock for part of the 3 cups tomato juice cocktail. Corn and peas together are too many starchy (high carb) vegetables for me...I added only corn and of that, half of what was called for. I will finish the soup and try again next week making the changes. Thanks for the starting recipe. I'll let you know how my changes work out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Potenski Akyuz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Adana, Adana, Turkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I'm giving this three stars because it has potential, and you can change it to suit your personal tastes and what you have on hand. We like thick soups, so this was good. On the other hand, we feel there were too many starches in it: potatoes, beans, corn, rice. The herbs used were an odd mix, too. I'll have to play with this on, and see what herbs would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Made this as is and it was great. I'm sure you could make changes here and there for variety or to taste but it's vegetable soup. It's forgiving like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This soup was great. It came out more like a stew, but I added more to the recipe and did not adjust the liquid. I added an extra potato, 1 bag of edamame instead of peas and used brown rice instead of white. This is for sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I love the veg cocktail base to this soup. I used this recipe as a base to get rid of some vegetables I had that I wanted to use up. I put in leeks, celery, chickpeas, navy beans, soy beans, can tomatoes and some green tomatoes form my garden. Just whatever I had around. It was delicious! I also added some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States