Hearty Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I love this soup! I made it on a cold night when I wasn't feeling well and it made everything better! I made only a few changes - instead of using V-8 I added 1 can of tomato sauce and about 3 cups of water. I also added a chicken bouillon cube because it tasted like it needed a little more salt. I omitted the leek, simply because I didn't have one. I also added about 1 1/2 cups frozen cut-leaf spinach. Very tasty!! I also did not add the rice, and didn't miss it at all. The soup was very thick, more like a stew. My boyfriend and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Just made this soup but altered it a little bit. I used frozen instead of canned veggies. I also added Cauliflower. When everything was all cooked I added a few spoonfuls of plain yogurt to the broth. It came out wonderful. Very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaisyJake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
My family didn't like this soup at all. It was too bland when following the recipe exactly. We had to add too many ingredients to give it any flavor. We added more garlic, an envelope of dry onion soup mix, worchestershire sauce. I don't think I will be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Also great with a few teaspoons of cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I didn't have veggie juice on hand so I just added more veggie stock and it still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Really, really disappointing. The recipe yielded nothing more than bland mush. I'm going to try and salvage things with some broth, but I'm not optimistic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
A keeper! Great flavor! A few changes I made..Used elbow pasta instead of rice, used a can of french onion soup instead of diced onions, a can of stewed tomatoes. 2 cups of beef broth and 1 cup of water, and added 1 tsp of dried basil leaves. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Not my kinda thing (so I didn't even taste it) - and I did change the recipe slightly based on veggies here that needed to be used (and an abundance of V8 that nobody would willingly drink) -- but hubby thought the soup was wonderful and asked if I could make it again - often. (Shame I didn't write down what I DID end up using, huh?) LOL Anyway this is my new go-to for vegetable-mystery soup -- thanks for the excellent base to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Left out celery (personal taste) added more potatoes. Left everything the same. Loved it! Even the leftovers reheated were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Awesome vegetable soup, though I would dare say its more of a stew than a soup possibly. I follow the recipe exactly, except I do not use garbanzo beans, instead opting for kidney beans. Tastes great still! I make a ton of this and save it(freeze some) and eat it for a healthy lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States