Hearty Vegetable Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Finally! A veggie lasagna I like. I added thawed and drained frozen spinach to the ricotta mixture (what is lasagna without spinach?), and I also followed other suggestions and added about 3/4 cup each of finally chopped carrot, broccoli, and zucchini. It was great. This recipe has become my mainstay for veggie lasagna. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
832 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I love the basic concept of this recipe, but did make a few changes. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Also, I loaded up on additional veggies such as chopped spinach as well as shredded zucchini, yellow squash, and carrots. Instead of making one large tray, I divided into 10 small bread pans for individual portions and froze half of them for later quick meals. L-o-v-e-d this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
704 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This was excellent! I was VERY skeptical when I was making this because my family are total carnivores but honestly we didnt miss the meat at all. I read a lot of the reviews and made the following modifications: I used 1/2 a box of lasagna noodles. I reduced the mushrooms from 1 pound to 8 oz,in addition to the green bell pepper I added 1 large carrot shredded, and 1 medium sized zucchini chopped. I sauteed all of this & added 1.5 jars of spaghetti sauce (which I doctored up w/ season salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, sugar & fresh basil etc to taste.) I layered like this: sauce in the bottom of pan, noodles, ricotta cheese mixture -- which I added dry parseley to (approximately 1/2 tablespoon) and then I did a light layer of fresh chopped spinach and then the suace mixture and I repeated that. I topped mine w/ mozzarella instead of parmesan. It was really good. My changes SEEM like a lot but they are really small nuances that I added so my family would love. They didnt even realize the amount of veggies they were eating. Everyone loved it. I made meatballs on the side for an extra but didnt even need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
600 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
this was totally great. Added spinach, celery, zucchini, stewed Italian style tomatoes and a splash of balsamic vinegar to the sauce; with the extra liquid it was able to simmer longer so the flavor really developed. Everyone at dinner loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I think the result of this recipe really depends on the spaghetti sauce. I made the mistake of using a generic brand sauce, which made this dish only average. Will use homemade or quality sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
This lasagna was delicious! I am not usually impressed with vegetable lasagna, but this recipe had a great taste. I left out the mushrooms, and reduced the amount of mozzarella because of cholesterol consciousness, and still the recipe was fantastic. This recipe is just as tasty made in advance and baked for 1/2 the time and refrigerated for up to 3 hours; then cook the other 1/2 time just before you serve it. I tried this so I could spend time with my company instead of being tied to the kitchen, and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is a decent base recipe, but the proportion of the ingredients I felt was way off. A whole package of lasagna was way too much. I used 12 noodles total. I also felt 2 jars of pasta sauce would have totally drowned this lasagna, and I am a huge sauce fan and tend to use more than others. 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 was more like it. It also lacked spice, and I added several spices to the veggies while cooking them (garlic salt, onion powder, onion salt, garlic salt, parsley). I also used different veggies since I hate mushrooms: 1 red pepper, 1 onion, 1 zucchini and 1 package of microwaved frozen chopped spinach. I'm always trying to lighten things up a bit so I used reduced fat (not fat free) cheeses and only used 1 egg and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very delish! And healthy. You can use just about any veggies you want. I used portabella mushroom, carrots, fresh baby spinach, red onion and bell pepper. I tossed all my veggies together in a bowl with some fresh parsley and minced garlic, then spread them out on a baking stone and roasted them in the over at 400 for 25-30 min. The veggies had a nice crisp still to them and not too mushy that way but it was enough to remove the moisture that can make your lasagna soupy, then I just layered the sauce, veggies without mixing them together. Oh I made my own tomato sauce and made it chunky with some diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Excellent, very tasty. I served it to my family and dinner guests. Served with garlic bread and salad. I used 1 package of frozen chopped spinach and 3 zucchini instead of the peepers and mushrooms. It was a hit, but the children - some liked it and some didn't. I followed other suggestions, added extra ricotta and used a larger pan. Also used the no boil lasagne noodles. I'll make this one again. It made enough for more the next day. (I learned the hard way that I should not pre-cook Zuccini before saute.) Used extra sauce (I like Prego).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This veggie lasagna was delicious! I served it along with my own meat filled lasagna for Christmas dinner. Hearty Vegetable lasagna was the definite winner. My brother-in-law who NEVER eats lasagna tried some and asked for the recipie! I varied a little by adding chopped broccoli and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States