Hearty Vegetable Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I made a few alterations but used this as the general guide. I took a few ideas from other posters and this is what I changed. For the sauce: no bell pepper and no mushrooms, instead I used broccoli, zucchini and carrots (3/4 c each) . I also added 1/4c red wine and an extra tsp basil and parsley, and 1/4- 1/2 tsp salt (to make up for the extra veggies). I only use 1 and a half jars of sauce so it is a little thicker. I had used summer squash in the sauce but it was better without it in case you were thinking of trying summer squash. For the ricotta mixture: I added spinach (I use thawed frozen spinach), 1 TB dried parsley and I mixed the 1/2C Parm in with the ricotta. Also, I use whole wheat noodles and only 9 noodles per batch and there isn't any cheese/sauce left over so I don't know how/if people use more than 9 lasagna noodles. People have RAVED about this lasagna and it is even better the 2nd-3rd days, after the flavors have really blended. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I love this recipe! I started adding fresh chopped tomatoes as the top layer before adding the last layer of cheese. They add such a fresh kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This lasagna makes for a fabulous dining experience! My husband, who does not care for meatless dinners, loved it and had two giant pieces! Our guests all asked for the recipe! (You know it's good when your company heads out the door with recipe in hand!!) I added cooked spinach to the ricotta mix and added a carrot and small zuchinni to the the list of vegetables. I made my own tomato sauce, so that made it really tasty. A friend of ours is Italian and he says that lasagna is like building a sandwich. You can add any combination of vegetables that you like. Thanks to Sue! This will be a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This recipe is really delicious and flexible. I usually add a lot more veggies than it calls for--red pepper, zucchini, carrots. It always comes out great and tasting exactly like lasagna should taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Love this recipe! This was the first time I made lasagna and decided to use the oven-ready lasagna noodles to cut down on prep time (make sure you bake it covered with aluminum foil for the first 30 minutes, then remove, top with cheese and bake for the last 10 minutes). Like most of the other reviewers, I subbed the mushrooms for squash. I also added a few extra flavors - oregano, red pepper flakes, a touch of white wine and onion powder. The consistency and taste was perfection - and neither of us missed the meat at all. This makes for awesome leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This lasagna was great. Next time I might cut down on the amount of sauce and add some more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. We served this to 150 at a 5th grade banquet and received wonderful comments. The only switch we made was using cottage cheese instead of ricotta, we sauted the veggies in real butter and used garlic powder instead of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara McGhee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I just made this recipe and it is delicious! I was looking for a good veggie lasagna that didn't contain zucchini or squash since my family dislikes it. I made some slight variations on this recipe though, I added carrots to the sauce and when layering added a layer of fresh spinach. I agree it needed more spices and salt.. so next time going to add more italian spice blend and salt and maybe some extra garlic I love garlic. But definitely a good recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
next time i would add move vegetables and make more sauce. but a great recipe! super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahpuja
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I loved! Family - not so much. They want meat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States