Hearty Vegan Slow-Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
`Very good! the only reason I did not give it five stars is because, like whyaduck said, too much tomato paste! But, thanks Grete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Loved this chili!! I read some of the reviews and made some changes based on those i.e. added 6 cups of water. Make sure that you have a large enough vessel, I used a large stew pot because I have a human size crock pot =) I also took the time to clean out a few items from the fridge by adding kale and edamame - delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed advice from others and cut the chili powder down to 2TBSP- but felt it was lacking something- I'll try with 3 TBSP, or cut the cumin next time. I also only used 1 can each of paste and sauce. I used frozen peppers (red, yellow, green) from Trader Joe's which were perfect! Got good reviews from the potluck I took it to. Definitely a keeper for getting lots of veggies in and would definitely be good with meat too ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Really easy - healthy ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Merchand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This just barely fit in my 5 quart slow cooker without any extra liquid per step 2 (I didn't need the extra sauce or broth). If your slow cooker is smaller, be prepared to cut back. Good flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This recipe is amazing!!! I make it all the time and never get tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
It was Great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Wonderful chili recipe, very flavorful, and imho you definitely won't miss the meat! I have a 6-qt. crockpot, and as other reviewers stated, the ingredients filled it to the brim. Just a few minor modifications...I used a 16 oz. pkg. of frozen spinach, same size of frozen corn, only one onion, 3 tsps. jarred minced garlic, and added 2 cups cut-up fresh green beans I had on hand. As suggested by other reviewers, I skipped the sauteeing step and added the peppers, onions and garlic directly into the pot, and used canned Mexican-style tomatoes with green chilies. I also cut way back on the chili powder; I used 2 Tbsp., and that to me was the perfect amount, considering it also calls for a Tbsp. of cumin, which is similar to chili powder. Any more would have been too overpowering. The one ingredient I added that veered me off the vegan path was a cup of homemade chicken broth I had in the freezer, in lieu of vegetable broth. In all, the chili is excellent, and it came out perfect...not too thick OR thin. I cooked it about 6-1/2 hours total. It made plenty of leftovers, and right now I am enjoying a bowl of it for lunch as I type this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellent! I didn't add vegetable broth because I didn't have any, but it didn't seem necessary. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
LOVE this! I make it for a dinner and then have it for a few lunches, and freeze some for future lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States