Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! Turned out perfect. I did use basil and rosemary as another reviewer did, since I didn't have marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a really good recipe as it is, very dependable results. I have a few suggestions after making it numerous times: I use red pepper instead of green (much prettier), I add a pinch of rosemary with the marjoram, and in the summer when small zucchinis are plentiful, I cut two baby ones into large-ish chunks and add at the same time as the pepper. Excellent! The most important adjustment of all, though, is: 2 small or one medium sweet potato, chopped very small. Add when the regular potatoes go in. The sweet potato will break down and become part of the gravy... a rich gravy that clings to the morsels when you eat it with a fork. I get fantastic reviews when I make it this way, plus it ups the nutritional value! (Incidentally, I do not like sweet potatoes by themselves... but in this they just taste like gravy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
very good soup i added a table spoon of garlic cuz i like garlic and added one sweet potato and one regular one. I never used marjoram before. was yummy. will do again. i made with cooked turkey which i think the recipe should be made with uncooked because the turkey did not absorb the flavor of this yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMYVITTLES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand but still was able to throw this together with very little fuss. I had some frozen chicken tenderloins, which I used in place of the turkey, and how I ended up without any chicken broth in the cupboard I don't know but I used water and white wine instead and it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was so awesome tasting and even better the next day. I did leave out the bell pepper, we're not really big pepper eaters and we thought that it would be an odd flavor. What a great way to use a lot of left over turkey. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is delicious!! I doubled the recipe to feed my family, and I used leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I used basil instead of marjoram because I didn't have any, and green beans instead of peppers. I also let this simmer several hours. It was excellent and my whole family loved it...a nice change from regular old turkey soup. Also, I can't have gluten so I used rice flour and it worked great. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was a little bit of awesomeness in a bowl. I made it almost as is with a couple of changes - 1 jalepeño for the bell pepper, turkey stock instead of chicken (post Thanksgiving leftovers) and a mix of leftover turkey for the breasts. Also, I'm a pressure cooker lover, I made it in the pressure cooker and let it cook for 25 minutes on high pressure. Like I said, pure awesomeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. Only alterations made were to omit the bell pepper, used leftover Thanksgiving turkey, and I only used one onion as two seemed like a lot. Thought this made a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was very delicious. I did make a few adjustments: no celery, I added peas (this was more in the theme of Thanksgiving anyways,) added 1 Tbs. celery salt, 1 Tbs. fresh thyme, 1 Tbs. salt, increased broth to 4 c. and used 4 potatoes. The flavor was delicious. I served it alongside a batch of buttermilk biscuits. This one is definitely going in the recipe box and will be used with leftover Thanksgiving turkey in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I scaled this one for 12. I started with 10 cups of water and 10 chicken bouillien cubes dumped the carrots into this to cook. When the carrots was done I peeled and cubed the potatos and dumped a half cup of flour ito the broth and carrots and potatoes. I didnt have any marjoram but used basil and red pepper flakes. Delicious !! Teenage son said it was awesome. Served it up with fresh hot bisquits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States