Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My family loved this! It is very easy. I did add dried parsley to it and doubled up on veggies. I used left over turkey. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! Turned out perfect. I did use basil and rosemary as another reviewer did, since I didn't have marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a really good recipe as it is, very dependable results. I have a few suggestions after making it numerous times: I use red pepper instead of green (much prettier), I add a pinch of rosemary with the marjoram, and in the summer when small zucchinis are plentiful, I cut two baby ones into large-ish chunks and add at the same time as the pepper. Excellent! The most important adjustment of all, though, is: 2 small or one medium sweet potato, chopped very small. Add when the regular potatoes go in. The sweet potato will break down and become part of the gravy... a rich gravy that clings to the morsels when you eat it with a fork. I get fantastic reviews when I make it this way, plus it ups the nutritional value! (Incidentally, I do not like sweet potatoes by themselves... but in this they just taste like gravy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
very good soup i added a table spoon of garlic cuz i like garlic and added one sweet potato and one regular one. I never used marjoram before. was yummy. will do again. i made with cooked turkey which i think the recipe should be made with uncooked because the turkey did not absorb the flavor of this yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMYVITTLES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand but still was able to throw this together with very little fuss. I had some frozen chicken tenderloins, which I used in place of the turkey, and how I ended up without any chicken broth in the cupboard I don't know but I used water and white wine instead and it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was so awesome tasting and even better the next day. I did leave out the bell pepper, we're not really big pepper eaters and we thought that it would be an odd flavor. What a great way to use a lot of left over turkey. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is delicious!! I doubled the recipe to feed my family, and I used leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I used basil instead of marjoram because I didn't have any, and green beans instead of peppers. I also let this simmer several hours. It was excellent and my whole family loved it...a nice change from regular old turkey soup. Also, I can't have gluten so I used rice flour and it worked great. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was a little bit of awesomeness in a bowl. I made it almost as is with a couple of changes - 1 jalepeño for the bell pepper, turkey stock instead of chicken (post Thanksgiving leftovers) and a mix of leftover turkey for the breasts. Also, I'm a pressure cooker lover, I made it in the pressure cooker and let it cook for 25 minutes on high pressure. Like I said, pure awesomeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. Only alterations made were to omit the bell pepper, used leftover Thanksgiving turkey, and I only used one onion as two seemed like a lot. Thought this made a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was very delicious. I did make a few adjustments: no celery, I added peas (this was more in the theme of Thanksgiving anyways,) added 1 Tbs. celery salt, 1 Tbs. fresh thyme, 1 Tbs. salt, increased broth to 4 c. and used 4 potatoes. The flavor was delicious. I served it alongside a batch of buttermilk biscuits. This one is definitely going in the recipe box and will be used with leftover Thanksgiving turkey in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States