Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I've made this gem of a recipe a handful of times since discovering it and I must confess....I've always made this with chicken! No matter, as it's a fabulous recipe, which holds up well to changes. I generally add another cup or two of chicken stock (my favorite is the Better Than Boullion) and omit the marjoram (never have any on hand), but I do add a few shakes of dried parsley to the pot. My family likes garlic, so I generally add either fresh, minced garlic or garlic powder to taste. I leave out the bell pepper as well....I love them, but somehow it doesn't seem like it fits in this recipe. However, per another reviewer's suggestion, perhaps I'll try the red pepper the next time. Also, I throw my cubed chicken in raw and only simmer 15-20 minutes, tops. 30 minutes would turn the chicken to rubber and the potatoes to mush! I really love the simplicity of this recipe. It's my "go-to" when someone in my family is sick....quite the comfort food. I promise I'll try the turkey eventually - it's just so good with the chicken! Thanks for this delicious and healthy submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Added peas and carrots and didn't use green peppers. Doubled recipe. Used leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Followed exactly, this was awesome! It is one of those recipes that gets better the next day! Also...tastes good with chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was really, really tasty. The only deviation from the recipe was that I slightly cooked the raw turkey breast with the vegetables prior to adding the broth and I didn't have green peppers, so added peas. We didn't expect this to taste so delicious because it's so simple - but, it was exceptionally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was a very nice stew. The bell pepper adds a very nice flavor. My toddlers gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I make a huge turkey just so I can make this after thanksgiving! I also like to use of my left over gravy on this recipe by adding it to the cold broth before heating. Adds some good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My family loved this! It is very easy. I did add dried parsley to it and doubled up on veggies. I used left over turkey. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! Turned out perfect. I did use basil and rosemary as another reviewer did, since I didn't have marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a really good recipe as it is, very dependable results. I have a few suggestions after making it numerous times: I use red pepper instead of green (much prettier), I add a pinch of rosemary with the marjoram, and in the summer when small zucchinis are plentiful, I cut two baby ones into large-ish chunks and add at the same time as the pepper. Excellent! The most important adjustment of all, though, is: 2 small or one medium sweet potato, chopped very small. Add when the regular potatoes go in. The sweet potato will break down and become part of the gravy... a rich gravy that clings to the morsels when you eat it with a fork. I get fantastic reviews when I make it this way, plus it ups the nutritional value! (Incidentally, I do not like sweet potatoes by themselves... but in this they just taste like gravy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States