Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Very Good. But, used a can of mixed veggies, instead of the carrots and potatoes listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Very good stew and an excellent way to use up leftovers. I upped the amount of chicken stock a bit and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to use up all the veggies I had at home, and I found this. The result was great, very nice and chunky, with thick consistency, exactly what I had in mind. I didn't have any marjoram, so I had to improvise with thyme and basil, but the flavour was bland, so I added some garlic and cheyenne pepper to add more flavour. With those adjustments, this recipe will become our family's staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I used chicken because I couldn't find turkey. This was ok. It's pretty bland. If I make it again, a lot of garlic and other herbs would need to be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This is a great tasting, filling stew. I used chicken breast instead of turkey, since I couldn't find turkey breast at the grocery store. I used 4 split, boneless skinless chicken breasts, chopped up. The stew was a little on the bland side, so I added garlic, sage leaves, more marjoram and some crushed red pepper for heat. I also used two tablespoons of olive oil on medium heat instead of butter. I recommend adding in extra carrots, peppers and celery, if you like vegetables. We served this with warm bread and it was a perfect, satisfying and healthy winter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
WOW!!! This was some GREAT stew!!! I did omit the peppers, and instead added some green beans. I barely got any leftovers out of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
A good hearty stew ... even better after a couple of days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Delicious! First turkey soup I've ever made and this turned out great. The flavors of the spices were perfect. I ended up making 5 qts and froze some. My husband loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
One of my favorite all-time recipes. Be sure to use fresh uncooked turkey to get the melt in your mouth texture. We also sub red bell pepper, for green, since we prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was pretty good. My leftover turkey was tough, but that was probably my fault. I think next time I might use fresh rather than left over. But the over all taste was yummy. Like someone else mentioned, I added oregano along with the marjoram and I liked that flavor. Definitely a recipe you can play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States