Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was gold! I used up my leftover Christmas turkey, and I threw in a few more potatoes than called for because I had less bird than I thought. I upped the amount of stock a little for the potatoes to soak up. Also omitted the green pepper which I didn't have. Other than that, did as I was told with great, stick-to-your-ribs results! This is a keeper. Might even cheat and try it with chicken. This turned out exactly as I hoped in my head... I love it when that happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is a great base recipe. It was a little bland for my taste so I added my favorite seasonings (garlic seasoning, seasoned salt, more pepper, etc.). I used leftover dark meat and added mushrooms. There was not enough liquid to cover everything so I threw in a beer and a little water. The stew turned out fantastic. This is a great way to use up that leftover turkey. Mmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
One of my favorite all-time recipes. Be sure to use fresh uncooked turkey to get the melt in your mouth texture. We also sub red bell pepper, for green, since we prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I have made this a few times now and my family loves it! It is also a winner with me because it is so easy to make. I have made it with both turkey and chicken, and have to admit the turkey is a little better. But I love being able to just drop the raw meat into the stew, no other prep. I also may try adding some peas. i have a large family, so I double this a use a few extra potatoes. It is still quick, easy and a healthy dinner to put on the table. I like how it gives you that wonderful feeling of a filling stew on a cold night, but it is also low fat and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this in my crockpot, left it on low all day and mmmm, the smell as I came in the door was amazing. I added chili powder, garlic and basil to mine. Served it with homemade muffins. Delicious dinner for a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I used my left overs from the Rosemary Roasted Turkey that I made for Thanksgiving. The additional flavor of the rosemary and basil gave this stew an amazing flavor. This is one of the best stews I've had in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This is a great tasting, filling stew. I used chicken breast instead of turkey, since I couldn't find turkey breast at the grocery store. I used 4 split, boneless skinless chicken breasts, chopped up. The stew was a little on the bland side, so I added garlic, sage leaves, more marjoram and some crushed red pepper for heat. I also used two tablespoons of olive oil on medium heat instead of butter. I recommend adding in extra carrots, peppers and celery, if you like vegetables. We served this with warm bread and it was a perfect, satisfying and healthy winter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I liked this, but hubby wasn't too much of a fan. I used leftover turkey breast from the rosemary turkey recipe from this site. Instead of chicken broth, I made turkey broth from the carcass, peppercorn, carrots, celery, fresh thyme, and fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
What a great tasting stew!!!!! It was a little watery so I added cornstarch to thicken it up and I served it over rice! I cut back on the green pepper since I'm not a big fan of peppers, but it did add a nice flavor. I also added fresh mushrooms and used chicken instead of turkey. I served it to 3 teenagers and they loved it!!!! It has a nice flavor and would be great on cold wintry days. Very filling! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this stew last year for Boxing Day with leftover turkey from the Rosemary Turkey recipe on this site. It was good but, it was a bit bland. This year, I made the Michiganer's Turkey from this site and used left over white and dark meat from it. I also made quite a few substitutions and additions: Veggies - 3 red potatoes, frozen corn, frozen peas and frozen baby carrots. Spices - In addition to the 1/4 tsp. marjoram, I used 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning, 1 tsp. dried basil, 1 tsp. onion powder (because i didn't have any onions!), 1 tsp fresh parsley, 1 clove of fresh garlic,1 bay leaf and fresh ground pepper to taste. The flavour was excellent and exactly what I had hoped for. This recipe is good made as is but, it's better as a base recipe to add your own personal flavourings to. With additions a 5/5, without additions a 4/5. Serve with fluffy biscuits recipe from this site - the perfect accompaniment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States