Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This stew is good. I used leftover Rosemary Roasted Turkey from thanksgiving. I added an extra cup of chicken stock and used a red bell pepper instead of green. I agree that it is missing something, so I added 1 tsp. poultry seasoning, and that helped. I would recommend even more seasoning - just add what you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I needed to find something quick to make with leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and saw this recipe. I changed it up a bit, used olive oil instead of butter, no celery, and added Adobo (Spanish seasoning) to give it more flavor. I also added oregano like another reviewer. Mine was dry at first so I added some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This stew was okay. My husband loved it, but my daughter and I both thought it was a little bland. The "idea" of this stew is good, but it definitely needs additional seasoning. I will use this recipe again - as a building block.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was a big hit! So simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Works like a charm every time. Soups are always a little bit of work, but this one was minimal and using raw turkey really makes it fabulous. A winter staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Didn't really like this for all the work involved. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liliy60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very tasty. Only thing I substituted was cumin instead of marjoram since I didn't have it. I also added corn starch to thicken. And since it just didn't look like stew to me I took the potato masher to it a bit after it was all cooked. I think that added to the taste. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This dish was really good. The sauce/broth was so yummy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
It's fresh, flavorful and delicious. This stew tastes like something you've been simmering all day, but you can actually make after a full day at work. My family was quite pleased with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very nice. Bf and I both really like it. I had to make a few subs, bc I just didn't have the ingredients and I didn't want to go back to the store. I eliminated the carrots entirely, subbed oregano and some thyme for the marjoram, and green beans for the pepper. We had leftover dark meat turkey, so I used that instead of turkey legs. I didn't peel the potatoes--one of my habits, due to pure laziness and interest in keeping the soup just a little bit more nutritious. I did add some salt and pepper--just seemed to need a bit more seasoning to me. Very nice meal for a cold winter's day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States