Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I scaled this one for 12. I started with 10 cups of water and 10 chicken bouillien cubes dumped the carrots into this to cook. When the carrots was done I peeled and cubed the potatos and dumped a half cup of flour ito the broth and carrots and potatoes. I didnt have any marjoram but used basil and red pepper flakes. Delicious !! Teenage son said it was awesome. Served it up with fresh hot bisquits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
SUPER!! I did not use flour, and used half broth, half water. Also added mushrooms, garlic salt, oregano and a bit of rosemary per other posts. GREAT TASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Needs salt and pepper. Also, 2 onions to small amounts of the other vegetables is too much. After cutting up one onion, I knew I needed more of the other vegetables. I more that doubled all others and added some frozen peas at the very end, since our household doesn't like bell peppers. Good, but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was phenomenal. Saving this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
very good. I added 1tsp celery salt, more flour for a thicker stew and some peas, corn and green beans the last 10 minutes of cooking. I don't like bell peppers, so I omitted them. This makes a hearty stew perfect for leftover Thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This soup was really good. I used left over turkey from Thanksgiving. I added some vegetables that I had on hand, broccoli & cabbage. Also 1 tbsp. poultry seasoning, garlic, salt, pepper & 1 tsp. basil. Quick and easy, all you need is cornbread or spicy crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is my all-time favorite soup!! For a heartier flavor, I subbed whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. I left the green bell out the first time I made it, simply because I didn't have it on hand. I think it is much better without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Nice alternative to the usual beef stew. Perfect for this time of year. Would be a great way to use up leftover turkey. I followed the recipe, but added a little corn and cooked this in my slow cooker on low for about hours. This was a tasty, healthy, hearty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this basically according to the recipe, with just a few changes: Added an extra carrot and two extra potatoes Used some minced garlic (about a tbsp), some basil (about 1 tsp) and a sprinkle of crushed red chilies Substituted leftover roast turkey for raw turkey breast (I think the trick to not having it taste dried out is to use thick pieces of white meat, and to also use some dark meat). The stew turned out wonderfully, everyone who tried it said it was the best turkey stew they'd ever had. Even my picky 4 year old daughter and 1 year old son ate it up! I will definitely make this again and again with our leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a healthy and wonderfully tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States