Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
What a great tasting stew!!!!! It was a little watery so I added cornstarch to thicken it up and I served it over rice! I cut back on the green pepper since I'm not a big fan of peppers, but it did add a nice flavor. I also added fresh mushrooms and used chicken instead of turkey. I served it to 3 teenagers and they loved it!!!! It has a nice flavor and would be great on cold wintry days. Very filling! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I used my left overs from the Rosemary Roasted Turkey that I made for Thanksgiving. The additional flavor of the rosemary and basil gave this stew an amazing flavor. This is one of the best stews I've had in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was a great, fast, inexpensive and hearty meal- even better the next day! I too served it over rice- and then added the rice to the leftover stew for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I just made this with my leftover turkey from thanksgiving and it was great!! I cooked rice on the side, then stirred it in when the pot of stew was done, and I think it added a lot to the stew, although I am sure it would have been good without the rice too. While it was cooking my husband said it smelled like it was missing something so I added salt and pepper and that seemed to make it better. It was very filling and we both loved it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is a good basic stew recipe. Instead of rice, I cooked up some barley to stir in to make it winter day hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This was a great recipe for left-over thanksgiving turkey. I used approx. amounts of turkey substitution for the turkey breasts. I also added dried dill weed and salt and peppered to taste. I cooked it as directed and let it sit in the fridgerator for a couple hours to soak up flavor and then reheated. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Easy and really good! I had a whole turkey breast that I didn't end up cooking on Thanskgiving, so I put it in the crockpot for 6 hours on high with onion, celery and 1.5 cups of chicken broth. After it was cooked, we shredded it and used the shredded meat to make the stew. I forgot to add the green pepper, but I will try that next time. We also added basil, oregano and parsley. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this stew with leftover dark turkey meat and it was great. I forgot to add the green pepper and added some pepper. I will be making this stew again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was gold! I used up my leftover Christmas turkey, and I threw in a few more potatoes than called for because I had less bird than I thought. I upped the amount of stock a little for the potatoes to soak up. Also omitted the green pepper which I didn't have. Other than that, did as I was told with great, stick-to-your-ribs results! This is a keeper. Might even cheat and try it with chicken. This turned out exactly as I hoped in my head... I love it when that happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I have made this stew several times and we love it - with a few modifications. I substitute vegetable oil for the butter, butternut squash for the potatoes, 1 tsp. each of basil and parsley instead of marjorim, and use 4 cups of chicken broth instead of 2. I also add 1 cup chopped swiss chard (or escarole) at the end instead of the green pepper. Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States