Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Excellent . The only thing I would do differently is add the carrots in a little later so that they maintain their flavor. This is an amazing recipe that can easily changed to suit your liking ( thickness, more veggies, seasoning. Also Instead of chicken stock I used water and bunions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberJoi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Loved it. I used chicken instead of turkey. I was expecting a salty flavor similar to other stews that I have made, and this one had more of a sweet flavor - which I LOVED! Tasted even better the second day after the vegetables absorbed the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This turned out exactly how I thought it would. Great recipe for leftover turkey. I used leftover Christmas turkey, added 4 T flour, 4 C broth (made from the turkey), only 1 onion, 1/2 tsp of poultry seasoning, 1 tsp. of basil and pepper to taste. I did not use the majoram. Next time I will thicken just slightly more b/c we like a thicker stew. Very delicious! Thanks for sharing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this stew last year for Boxing Day with leftover turkey from the Rosemary Turkey recipe on this site. It was good but, it was a bit bland. This year, I made the Michiganer's Turkey from this site and used left over white and dark meat from it. I also made quite a few substitutions and additions: Veggies - 3 red potatoes, frozen corn, frozen peas and frozen baby carrots. Spices - In addition to the 1/4 tsp. marjoram, I used 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning, 1 tsp. dried basil, 1 tsp. onion powder (because i didn't have any onions!), 1 tsp fresh parsley, 1 clove of fresh garlic,1 bay leaf and fresh ground pepper to taste. The flavour was excellent and exactly what I had hoped for. This recipe is good made as is but, it's better as a base recipe to add your own personal flavourings to. With additions a 5/5, without additions a 4/5. Serve with fluffy biscuits recipe from this site - the perfect accompaniment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Wonderful!! serving size of 7 easy recipe to read and not hard to get items. Have 3 hungry boys and they loved it!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My family loved this recipe! Very easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is SO yummy! The chicken bouillon that I used might be partly to blame (Knorr extra large cubes). I was a little skeptical of the green pepper, but it is was a wise choice. I used the dark meat left over from the Thanksgiving turkey. I am having a terrible day...no week, but this is making me happy right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So good! I used one onion, two celery stalks, leftover baby carrots and one Russet potato. I threw in some fresh tarragon and left out the bell pepper. I finished it with dumplings, following the recipe from Easy Chicken and Dumplings. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used chicken bouillon instead of chicken stock 2 cubes/cup of water and I used oregano instead of marjoram. I also added some sausage to the stew and it was a hit for dinner! Definitely adding to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Yum!! Great way to use Thanksgiving leftovers! I changed it up a bit---added extra potatoes and broth, Provencal salt, cracked pepper. Threw in some sprigs of rosemary, sage and basil. I also put in the remaining wild rice stuffing and a little leftover gravy. I was using leftover turkey, so I put it in the last ten minutes, just enough to heat it through. DELISH!!!!!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBUTANTE8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States