Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this stew last year for Boxing Day with leftover turkey from the Rosemary Turkey recipe on this site. It was good but, it was a bit bland. This year, I made the Michiganer's Turkey from this site and used left over white and dark meat from it. I also made quite a few substitutions and additions: Veggies - 3 red potatoes, frozen corn, frozen peas and frozen baby carrots. Spices - In addition to the 1/4 tsp. marjoram, I used 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning, 1 tsp. dried basil, 1 tsp. onion powder (because i didn't have any onions!), 1 tsp fresh parsley, 1 clove of fresh garlic,1 bay leaf and fresh ground pepper to taste. The flavour was excellent and exactly what I had hoped for. This recipe is good made as is but, it's better as a base recipe to add your own personal flavourings to. With additions a 5/5, without additions a 4/5. Serve with fluffy biscuits recipe from this site - the perfect accompaniment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Wonderful!! serving size of 7 easy recipe to read and not hard to get items. Have 3 hungry boys and they loved it!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My family loved this recipe! Very easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is SO yummy! The chicken bouillon that I used might be partly to blame (Knorr extra large cubes). I was a little skeptical of the green pepper, but it is was a wise choice. I used the dark meat left over from the Thanksgiving turkey. I am having a terrible day...no week, but this is making me happy right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So good! I used one onion, two celery stalks, leftover baby carrots and one Russet potato. I threw in some fresh tarragon and left out the bell pepper. I finished it with dumplings, following the recipe from Easy Chicken and Dumplings. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used chicken bouillon instead of chicken stock 2 cubes/cup of water and I used oregano instead of marjoram. I also added some sausage to the stew and it was a hit for dinner! Definitely adding to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Yum!! Great way to use Thanksgiving leftovers! I changed it up a bit---added extra potatoes and broth, Provencal salt, cracked pepper. Threw in some sprigs of rosemary, sage and basil. I also put in the remaining wild rice stuffing and a little leftover gravy. I was using leftover turkey, so I put it in the last ten minutes, just enough to heat it through. DELISH!!!!!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBUTANTE8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Awesome 'stick to the ribs' kinda meal! Use corn starch or rice flour for a Gluten-free alternative!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My grocery store didn't have boneless turkey breast, so bought boneless skinless chicken, and just pretty much doubled everything! The only thing I did do different was to omit the green pepper - I just thought it was an odd ingredient to throw in! I might add that I put much more marjoram in the stew than it called for - 1/4 tsp based on the stew's original proportions sounded way too little - glad I decided to follow my instincts - It was absolutely delicious!!! I will look forward to try this with leftover turkey after Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I added: 6 cloves of garlic to saute with the onions and carrots; ground sage, black pepper and bay leaves instead of marjoram. I didn't add: green peppers or celery. It was delicious! Hearty soup served with cornbread for a winter night's treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States