Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
A good hearty stew ... even better after a couple of days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Delicious! First turkey soup I've ever made and this turned out great. The flavors of the spices were perfect. I ended up making 5 qts and froze some. My husband loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
One of my favorite all-time recipes. Be sure to use fresh uncooked turkey to get the melt in your mouth texture. We also sub red bell pepper, for green, since we prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was pretty good. My leftover turkey was tough, but that was probably my fault. I think next time I might use fresh rather than left over. But the over all taste was yummy. Like someone else mentioned, I added oregano along with the marjoram and I liked that flavor. Definitely a recipe you can play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This stew is just what I was looking for! Tastes like Mom's. I'll be using it lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I have made this a few times now and my family loves it! It is also a winner with me because it is so easy to make. I have made it with both turkey and chicken, and have to admit the turkey is a little better. But I love being able to just drop the raw meat into the stew, no other prep. I also may try adding some peas. i have a large family, so I double this a use a few extra potatoes. It is still quick, easy and a healthy dinner to put on the table. I like how it gives you that wonderful feeling of a filling stew on a cold night, but it is also low fat and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I'm a vegetarian and was looking for a good hearty root vegetable stew.....perfect!!!! I simply replaced the chicken stock with veggie stock and the turkey with tofu. I've also added turnip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Really easy and yummy recipe. We loved it except for the peppers (and we love bell peppers). It just didn't fit with the recipe. Great for leftover turkey. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fruita, Colorado, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is a great base recipe. It was a little bland for my taste so I added my favorite seasonings (garlic seasoning, seasoned salt, more pepper, etc.). I used leftover dark meat and added mushrooms. There was not enough liquid to cover everything so I threw in a beer and a little water. The stew turned out fantastic. This is a great way to use up that leftover turkey. Mmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I have made this stew several times and we love it - with a few modifications. I substitute vegetable oil for the butter, butternut squash for the potatoes, 1 tsp. each of basil and parsley instead of marjorim, and use 4 cups of chicken broth instead of 2. I also add 1 cup chopped swiss chard (or escarole) at the end instead of the green pepper. Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States