Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Hmmm..I was really excited about this recipe, but I can only give it 3 stars. For starters, you need a bigger stock pot than 4 qts! I don't really understand the need to mix milk and the flour together to mix into soup. It didn't thicken the soup, in my opinion just clouded it! I think it had a bit too much pepper, and I messed up the dumplings. They were too doughy! However, I could still taste some goodness through it all. I will try this again...and maybe make a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very good flavor but I didn't cook the dumplings right, so they were a bit doughy. Otherwise a great soup that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was easy and delicious! My husband, who is not a turkey soup fan, loved this dish. The soup was thicker than a broth and full of vegetables and meat. The dumplings turned out perfectly tender and puffy. The trick to perfect dumplings is to NOT lift the lid on the simmering dumplings once cooking starts. This one is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I don't know why this is rated at almost 5 stars. It was okay. Nothing spectacular. Pretty plain. I won't make it again. It turned out the way it is supposed to, just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I just tried the dumplings in this recipe... they were ok. I'm still searching for a better recipe... too chewy. The flavor was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
pretty good. I made bread dumplings after I tried the ones in the recipe, thank goodness. They were just gross. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is very good... you must make sure to skim off as much fat as possible or else the soup will turn out extremely greasy. The dumplings were great. I added cornmeal and cooked them for ten minutes covered and then ten minutes uncovered. I substitued the cube of chicken bouillon with a can of chicken broth. Overall a very yummy soup. I'll use this recipe for every leftover turkey! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I made a chicken noodle soup out of this instead, but I just added the parsley dumplings to my soup. Splendid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This is a very good and easy recipe. Family really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I didn't make the dumplings (or use a rutabaga), but the soup was great! I'm generally not a big fan of turkey or chicken soup, but this was very flavorful - definitely add the thickening. I added some cooked barley to the soup. And, if you have leftover stuffing, put a scoop of that into your bowl before you add the soup - really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States