Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My review is only for the dumplings. While they tasted okay, when I dropped them by tablespoons into my hot liquids, they fell apart. I got them to hold together by pressing them together with my hands like meatballs. I don't think I'll be trying this recipe again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
It would be 5 stars with some egg noodles. I will try that next time. But we found it delicious! just the way it is now. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda-van

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I make my own bread - whole wheat multigrain type - and was concerned that it wouldn't work with the dumplings. But I used it anyway and the dumplings turned out great! I think the flax seeds even added a little texture and color to them. The soup was time consuming but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Was looking for a basic turkey soup for the leftover carcass from thanksgiving and found it!! The soup was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
The soup base turned out great. I need to work on making dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Walsh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
good use of turkey carcass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Fantastic! I followed to the letter except that I omitted the flour and milk to thicken stock. The parsley dumplings were quite appealing in flavor and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used just chopped turkey from T-day,(about 1.5 cups) not the carcass. But first I sauteed the sliced carrots/celery w/ a cpl heaping spoonfulls of garlic in evoo and a splash of chix stock. After about 30 mins I added the rest of the can of stock, about 4 cups of water and a chicken bouillion cube, tbls of thyme, splash of white wine and a can of diced potatoes (about $.50) instead of cooking and dicing potatoes. Toward the end I added the fridg biscuit dough torn up, and a cpl tbls of fresh flat leaf parsley. It was a tad bland so I put in a cpl shakes of regular ole seasoned salt/pepper then a tad of tabasco. We all loved it including the kids... another way to uniquely use leftover T-day turkey!! Thanks (Oh yea.. who has rutabaga?? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
loved this.made tonight with leftover turkey, was awesome! Skipped the dumpling and put a handful of leftover stuffing in bottom of soup bowl (cold) and let the hot broth and soup absorb into the bread cubes, soooooooo good! skipped the rutabega and didn't have carcass so just put my meat in with 3 boullion cubes. It was gone quickly by our family. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Very Good! I used a whole cut up chicken instead of a turkey carcass and it worked great! Next time I will add spices to the dumplings. In my opinion they are a little bland. I think I will add celery salt next time. The rest of the recipe is great! Add spices to the broth to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States