Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Great recipe. Family loved it. For the dumplings, I "cheated" and cut refrigerated biscuits dough in small pices and just dropped them in the broth. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I have made this several times and I think it is delicious --the dumplings are great. I've tried it with and without the rutabaga and now believe it does not matter whether it is there. Fresh parsley is a must. The salt for the broth needs to be reduced -- start by reducing it to half of what the recipe calls for and add according to your taste. I frequently add fresh or canned corn, garlic. I also like to add small noodles about 10 minutes before it is done, and frozen peas a minute or two before serving. This soup is comfort food, no doubt about it. If you are worried it might be to bland for you, I'd 1 1/2 x the onion for extra flavor...I have made this several times, sometimes using chicken instead of turkey. It is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Yum. My darling husband, (some like to refer to him as "Mr. Clean" because he's so tidy) was being helpful by cleaning up and threw out the turkey carcus. I did however cut the recipe in 1/2 & used the leg & wings that were left and it turned out fine. I ran out of time so I didn't get to add the dumplings but I did add the parsley along with some Barilla Pipette pasta (somewhat like a macaroni noodle, a "new shape"). Very tasty, Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was easy and delicious! My husband, who is not a turkey soup fan, loved this dish. The soup was thicker than a broth and full of vegetables and meat. The dumplings turned out perfectly tender and puffy. The trick to perfect dumplings is to NOT lift the lid on the simmering dumplings once cooking starts. This one is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I've been making turkey soup for 40 years and until today I would have said mine was better. Not anymore! This was fantastic, it made me think of my childhood and mum's chicken and dumplings. Don't change a thing it is great soup just as it is. Thanks Christine for teaching an old bird new tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Soup doesn't get any better than this and being that the "frost was on the pumpkin" this morning here in N.J., my family couldn't have wanted for anything more perfect then this wonderful comfort food. Using a leftover turkey or chicken carcass definitely gives soup the best flavor possible. I made my stock the day before so that I could skim off the fat. I made matzo balls in lieu of the dumplings as my kids are totally addicted to them. Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
TERRIFIC soup -- i added in some leftover pasta instead of the dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I didn't make the dumplings (or use a rutabaga), but the soup was great! I'm generally not a big fan of turkey or chicken soup, but this was very flavorful - definitely add the thickening. I added some cooked barley to the soup. And, if you have leftover stuffing, put a scoop of that into your bowl before you add the soup - really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Time consuming but worth it! Dumplings are the gummy kind.(If you are used to Bisquick like I am) I did not have fresh parsley so I substituted for the dried type but it was still good. Don;t know if it lives up to the name hearty.. but then again I left out the rutabaga...Maybe some potatoes in it... That would make it hearty. I had two bowls and I'm still hungry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is the best tasting turkey soup I have ever had! It is somewhat time consuming to make, but well worth it! I have gotten raves from everyone who has tried it. I have not attempted the dumplings yet - I have added barley instead. This is quick becomming one of my favorite meals to make! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States