Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This soup was wonderful! We refridgerated the dumpling dough and just made them when we reheated the soup, so they wouldn't get soggy. The dumplings were better the second day. This recipie is definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I have made this several times and I think it is delicious --the dumplings are great. I've tried it with and without the rutabaga and now believe it does not matter whether it is there. Fresh parsley is a must. The salt for the broth needs to be reduced -- start by reducing it to half of what the recipe calls for and add according to your taste. I frequently add fresh or canned corn, garlic. I also like to add small noodles about 10 minutes before it is done, and frozen peas a minute or two before serving. This soup is comfort food, no doubt about it. If you are worried it might be to bland for you, I'd 1 1/2 x the onion for extra flavor...I have made this several times, sometimes using chicken instead of turkey. It is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This soup was great - the best, most flavourful use of a turkey carcass after Thanksgiving! Now... the dumplings in this recipe were a disaster- which could have been something I did - they turned out like doorstops! I had to scoop them out and throw em away, but the soup made up for it..! Stick to easy bisquick dumplings with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This is really, really, good, flavorful soup. It was fine without the rutabaga. I ate the last of the leftovers today, am sad to see it all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
One of my favorite turkey recipes! I don't use the rutabaga, however - and it still turns out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This recipe was fantastic. I did not have a rutabaga in the house, so I used 2 small potatoes with great results. Also did not have fresh parsley, but the dumplings were still great. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I make turkey more often during the year just so I can make this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was time consuming, but, one of the best soup recipes I've got. It is definitely worth the time. I skipped the dumplings (from the previous reviews - just made toast to dip in it instead), added mushrooms & a can of corn as I like a few more veges in my soup. Well done & a double thumbs up from our house! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Time consuming but worth it! Dumplings are the gummy kind.(If you are used to Bisquick like I am) I did not have fresh parsley so I substituted for the dried type but it was still good. Don;t know if it lives up to the name hearty.. but then again I left out the rutabaga...Maybe some potatoes in it... That would make it hearty. I had two bowls and I'm still hungry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States