Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This soup is awesome! Pure comfort food. I made this using the Thanksgiving turkey carcass. I pressed a few (4 or 5) large cloves of garlic while making the broth. I omitted the rutabega, added 5 small potatoes,added some fresh basil I had on hand for another recipe, and added a bit of salt. The flour/milk mixture makes a nice creamy broth. I do not have a food processor, therefore I used another recipe I had for the dumplings. Will definately be making this recipe again and again! Thanks Christine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
The whole family LOVEs this recipe! I am always looking for healthy and tasty meals. This one is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This soup has great flavor and is a great way to use those turkey leftovers. I omitted the rutabaga and the dumplings but still enjoyed it immensley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Excellent! Did not make the dumplings. I added fine egg noodles to it instead. Everyone loved it. Even my fussy toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I have made this recipe for several years on the day after Thanksgiving. The only variation I have made is by substituting the rutabagas with potatoes. My family always looks forward to this soup and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Incredibly delicious soup Christine! I cheated and made the dumplings with Bisquik and added a few more seasonings. Perfect dinner on this windy and very rainy night. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This soup was delicious!!!! I made it as is with the exception of using half a rutabaga because I never ate one before. They're delicious. My husband didn't like the rutabaga but he's like a child...I think his tooth touched it and then he declared that he didn't like it. He did like the soup (doesn't like dumplings either, but that's okay). I put in fine egg noodles but DH thought it needed bigger noodles...I disagree but that's not important. Anyway, great soup and fattening but I'll just make it once a year after Thanksgiving. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Great soup for leftover turkey. I didn't make the dumplings and omitted the rutabaga (whatever that is??) I used more bouillon probably 6 cubes or so. Came out really great!!Freezes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This stuff was great. I also used potato in place of rutabaga (because it was what I had on hand) and I did't have time to try the dumplings. But altogether it was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
What a fantastic recipe.My family loved it and I have very picky children. I didn't try the dumplings and I substituted the rutabaga for potato. We used a free range fresh turkey and there was no fat or greasey texture like with some soups. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States