Hearty Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
I've made this several times now and it is a favourite! I brown the onion and celery first, substitute the sour cream with yogurt and add 1/2 tsp each of dill, basil and pepper. Sometimes I will substitute the zucchini with a package of thawed spinach. I usually just mix everything (instead of layering) together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
Hmmm...interesting. I had a little bit of a tough time getting passed the weird taste of the heated mayonnaise in this. It's a decent dish, if you don't have cream of mushroom soup on hand to make the real deal. I might make this again, but will leave out some of the mayo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
One of the better tuna casseroles I've made. I did substitute mushrooms for the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IANKRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
I was looking for a tuna casserole that had something more than just noodles and tuna...and boy, did I find it!!! I've made this a hand full of times since finding the recipes...I add more zucchini than is called for...heck, I probably doubled the recipe for leftovers. It's a definite crowd-pleaser...served with warm crusty bread...it's a rainy day favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiaChambers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This was a great spin off of the usual tuna casserole. I loved the zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Great and definately not the norm. Changes I made: Added a bit of milk and walnut pieces. To help make this lowfat, I substituted the montary jack with colby/montary jack that comes in 2% milk. The walnuts add yet another taste that blends perfectly. Easy, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I was looking for an interesting tuna casserole recipe that didn't use mixed vegetables or condensed soup. This one called for zucchini which I don't usually make and it sounded good. Well, it was delicious! My family went back for seconds. I will now be making this dish often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
This recipe is alot like my own except I'd omit mustard and thyme. I also saute onion and celery until slightly tender.Any pasta will work and any cheese.I add peas and sliced black olives and a can of creamed soup and a little milk. Crush crackers and mix with a little melted butter for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This was too "mustardy" for us. Next time I will cut down the mustard and add more sour cream and maybe a little milk, as it was a bit dry as well. I like that it's not the regular tuna and condensed soup casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
This recipe is very good, a little rich, but it's flavorful. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States