Hearty Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I like the concept of not using cream of anything. I made this recipe with the addition of more milk and sour cream because of reviewers commemts on dryness thinking that would solve the problem and it would come out nice and moist, well it didn't. It was still dry and although it was good it still needs refining. Would I attempt it again, yes, but not as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I tried this, and the second time I made an addition to it. I added 1/2 can of French fried onion rings. It was totally yummy and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA
Living In: Naples, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I thought this was excellent. the 4 stars are because I did not have all the right ingr. I had to use sweet onions, no zukes and cheddar since it was on hand. will try again with the right ingr. My sour crm and mayo were non fat and low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very yummy. I thought the zuccini would be kind of weird but it definitely was a key ingredient. Also the fresh tomatoes made this recipe very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Well, this is a nice healthy step up from your tuna helper! I would definitely say to shred the zucchini for texture purposes. Also, make sure to add at least 1 c. cheese because our was pretty dry! Next time I'll go for the cream of mushroom instead of mayo for creaminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Really great flavour! I loved the zucchini - the texture was great. I even liked the crunchy celery. I also added dill and milk and garlic salt instead of plain salt. Plus more noodles. I used light mayo and sour cream to reduce calories. Tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was really delicious and definitely filling. Next time, I will probably use at least 4 cups of egg noodles. I like to have a lot of noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Like many others here, I was skeptical about the ingredients putting together this recipe but was absolutely delighted with the results. I have made this twice- once as written and once with 3 very slight changes. As written, it is a 4 star recipe as it is a little dry for my taste. With the addition of 1/4 cup of milk, 1 crushed clove of garlic and 1/4 teaspoon of dill, as per recommendation of the others here, it is 5 stars. I made it a second time (with changes) for a weekly potluck when it was my turn to make the main course and everyone raved about the recipe. It is comforting and delicious, yet still quite fresh and light. Great flavour, texture, balance and taste. It's certainly an improvement on the more traditional mushroom soup tuna casseroles of my childhood. I agree with others- the zucchini and chopped tomatoes are an essential part of this dish. The end result certainly does not focus on zucchini flavour but it adds a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I love this recipe - I have been using it for 4 yrs now I believe. I don't like tuna casseroles with creamy soups in them, so this is perfect! If I'm out of celery I add chopped red peppers. I've also made it without the layer of zucchini as well. You really can't go wrong with this - so easy and comes out perfect. Even my picky family likes it! Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I used this recipe more as inspiration than a literal recipe. I used fat free cottage cheese instead of mayonnaise to save on calories and I used fat free sour cream (but ended up adding more than suggested). I also used twice as much zucchini than recommended and cooked the tomatoes with the zucchini layer (highly recommend). It came out very creamy and delicious, hearty enough to satisfy my meat-loving starving boyfriend too! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States