Hearty Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Sorry to say, but we did not enjoy this. Per another review, I used lemon pepper tuna. It did add flavor. I also added chopped garlic. Good addition. I think the problem was the thyme. Too much. It may, however, have worked w/plain tuna. Who knows. DH said it had a funny taste and I had to agree. May try it again w/plain tuna and less thyme or lemon pepper tuna w/no thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Probably the first casserole I have ever liked. I left out the zucchini. When I make it again, I will reduce the cheese, because it added little to the dish. Fast and simple to prepare for even a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
My kids are all Texans and we ended up adding jalapenoes to this to make it more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakeway, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I'm not a giant tuna fan, but my husnabd is and he loved this. I did use the lemon pepper tuna in the pouch and that adds a lot of flavor. I make it with this all the time now. I think it would be lacking flavor if I used regular tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is a great standby I use. I even got my elderly parents hooked on this one. My mom asked for this recipe. I make the recipe exactly as printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
We really enjoyed this dish. My 10 year old granddaughter had two helpings. I only tweaked it slightly...sauteed my onions and celery and used a 16 oz bag of broccoli florets instead of zuchinni. I microwaved the broccoli per the instructions and probably used two cups of cheese instead of one. Next time I'm going to try using water chestnuts in the dish to give it a little crunch. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Yum! Don't substitute the zucchini for anything - it's what makes this casserole stand out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Like some others, I used what I had. Instead of the zucchini, I used frozen peas and mushroom. I also added some red bell pepper (didn't like, too sweet for the other flavors) and regular onion. Since I did not use a vegetable with lots of moisture, I added about 1/8c of milk. I stirred all the ingredients together and cooked as directed. Very versatile recipe, however I think it would have tasted better as written (without the mustard, didn't meld with the other flavors for me). Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was a pretty great meal. My husband loved it! I didn't have some of the ingredients (thyme, celery) and it was still tasty! Also I used cheddar instead of monterey (another thing I didn't have) I'll be making this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi-Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My whole family loved this. The only thing I did differently was add fresh slice portabellas, sliced water chestnuts and top with extra sharpe cheddar and Rizt crackers mixed with 3/4 cup melted butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States