Hearty Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is a fantastic, away from the normal, tuna casserole. I had to make some changes, because I did not have the cheese on hand that the recipe called for. The following is what I did. I doubled the recipe and with that instead of the shredded cheese, I used one 8 oz. package of cream cheese. I did not use the zucchini due to I have a son who does not like zucchini, instead I added 12oz. Package of frozen peas. ( remember, I doubled the recipe make sure to double the recipe ingredients, use amount I listed for subs) I made noodles as directed and I took every other ingredient and mixed it in a large sauce pan and blended all together until cream cheese was melted. I then poured the sauce over the already cooked noodles, and mixed/ blended all together. I put it in a large baking dish in a pre- heated oven at 350 degrees F and baked for approx. 30 minutes, just until warmed all the way through and the top began to brown. This fed a family of 5 with 4 of them being very hearty eaters. THEY LOVED IT. thank you for posting your recipe, I would not have been able to make the dish I did with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe was really good, my kids asked for seconds. I did adjust the recipe a little because I didn't have every thing. I didn't have zucchini so I used 1 can of peas, I used Dijon mustard, I didn't have green onions so I just used a yellow onion, I also crushed some saltines on top. I forgot about the tomato on top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
We didn't care for the combination of flavors in this. The mayonnaise and mustard are the most dominant flavors, and because the zucchini isn't cooked it tastes like a crunchy tuna sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Yummy! I added black eyed peas on top and switched the sour cream for Greek yogurt... A little more nutritious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I double the sour cream, mustard and mayo in this recipe. We've had this with and without grated zucchini. I'd give it 5 stars with the extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Delicious! I used light sour cream and light mayo since that's what I'm used to, and pepper jack cheese instead of Monterey. I also omitted the tomato because I forgot to buy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I really liked this since I didn't have to add cream of mushroom, which I hate and always try to substitute something else for it. I'm not really crazy about tuna casserole to begin with, but it is a favorite of my husband, so I thought why not try to make it more to my liking too then? Well even though I liked this version a lot better, he didn't, he didn't like the celery and onions in it at all. So I think next time I'll still use the mayo and sour cream, but just leave out the celery and onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Casserole was ok. It definitely was dry and was missing something... Didn't use the zucchini as we don't eat zucchini.. but I followed the rest to the T and it just seemed very bland. Maybe mixing it up with some other spices will help. It also wasn't as "creamy" as when I would make tuna casserole from mush soup. I had to add milk becuase it seemed too dry. May try again.. not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Very good. I usually read reviews before making a dish here but did so afterward this time. I used spinach instead of zuchinni and added a dash of worcestershire and then read in the reviews that others did the same. It is a very good recipe but does need a bit more seasoning such as the worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States